We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best stay in Guatemala”
Review of Chaltunha Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chaltunha Hostel
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is, by far, the best place we stayed at while in Guatemala. A mixture of wonderful location (a GREAT view of Flores and the lake from the lobby/bar), nice clean room, beautiful garden (with orange trees whose oranges are used to make orange juice in the morning), and most of all the lovely owners. Neil is from Belize and his wife Guatemalan. They are ever so helpful, friendly, never pushy, always kind and interested in talking, sharing, etc. We loved it. We were woken up by the roosters in the morning, so we got the countryside experience too (a million times better than the noise of cars in town). Tips: try and catch sunset and sunrise from there and remember to carry your camera so you can snap pictures of it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Chaltunha Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 169 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

A quiet chilled place to stay, right in front of the island 3 min by boat. Beautiful view, nice bungalows, clean, tasty food and the best there was a pool.. The owner, Nil was very friendly and helpful, gave us many tips about belize (he was originally from there), cool guy…
The best stay in Flores.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here because we didn't want to be in the middle of Flores and the place was recommended to us by a fellow traveller. We're happy that we went here! The hosts (Neil and his wife and son) were lovely and very helpful, and it was nice being able to go to Flores (it's very close, a small boat ride away) but also coming back and having a beer while watching the sunset behind Flores. There is also a neat little swimming pool where we lounged for a bit. The only downside of this place for us was that the beds were on the hard side. But overall I would definitely recommend this place if you're going to Flores!! Check it out!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wazoozaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We almost didn't choose this place as it was not on Flores, but compared to all the rowdy hostels on the island it was a real relief. Set in beautiful grounds, with lots to do without even going over the water, it was the perfect base for our Tikal visit. Neil and family are so helpful, full of information and makes time for everyone. We even got lots of useful Belize info from Neil about his homeland as it was our next destination. So nice to be greeted at the boat too so you can throw your ruck sacks off and enjoy the cruise over the water. Food was really good if a little expensive, but definitely worth making time for one meal even though the taco stalls on Flores are so cheap and delicious! Dorms high quality and comfortable too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emperados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

For an extra 15 minutes and 3 quetzales from Flores centre you can have a beautiful boat ride and stunning views as part of your hostel experience. Neil and Beatrice could not be more helpful. I only stayed two nights and they assisted me with so many aspects
of my trip. Neil is from Belize and gives great advice on journeys in that direction. The rooms are spotless and bug proof if the doors are kept shut. Gorgeous place.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatfrench84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Chaltunha Hostel for 4 nights while visiting Tikal and Flores. Neil & his wife are wonderful hosts full of local knowledge and happy to assist in any way. Neil is from Belize so can provide hints for visiting if you are heading that way, and they can organise various trips including Tikal and transport to other destinations.

While Chaltunha Hostel is located on the mainland peninsula overlooking Flores where you need to get a boat, this was no problem at all. Neil will pick you up when you arrive & if you are taking tours to Tikal or leaving he will make himself available to take you to Flores to get your transport....even if it is 3am!!

The views are absolutely amazing overlooking Flores. It is a good thing they serve food as the view encouraged us not to venture into Flores each night & eat dinner looking at it instead. Neil's wife does the cooking & serves up a great garden salad and other dishes. The pool is also a welcome feature, especially when returning from a hot & humid day at Tikal.

We had a private room and the bed was comfortable, bathroom with hot water (although it is so hot in Flores you'll probably want a cold shower!). The only downside to our sleep was the neighbours music & the roosters very early in the morning. As others have suggested, bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The bunny and I ended up staying at Chal Tun ha a few days longer than originally planned.
Mostly this was because of the genuine hospitality we received, Neil is an awesome host and nothing was too much trouble.
Staying in San Miguel was a lot better than my previous experiences staying in Flores/Santa Elena.
The view is fantastic, particularly at sunset. Beatriz makes a mean chicken soup (seriously good) and the jungle themed pool is a bloody god send after a day at Tikal!
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian_Ryals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Flores de Peten
Hotel Flores de Peten
#16 of 16 in Flores
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green World Hotel
Green World Hotel
#11 of 16 in Flores
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jaguar Inn Santa Elena
0.0 mi away
Hostel Yaxha
Hostel Yaxha
#5 of 24 in Flores
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa de Grethel
Hostal Casa de Grethel
#4 of 24 in Flores
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaltunha Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaltunha Hostel

Address: San Miguel, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range: $10 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaltunha Hostel is a family operated hostel in Flores, Guatemala. Born with the idea of share our little paradise with all the travelers who will enjoy the outdoors and rural lodgings.Built in 2005, Chaltunha Hostel offers a diversity of accommodations bungalow type. Each on elevated floorboards with well-ventilated canvas roofs, and full screens. You can enjoy peaceful relaxation on your private sheltered porch, while viewing the undisturbed tropical forest. Comfortable beds with clean linens, pillows, towels and blankets will assure a good night’s rest after a fun-filled adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chaltunha Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing