We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Casa Del Lacandon
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Flores
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

The room itself is fine but there were a lot of little things that made this an indifferent stay. We were initially told one price then charged Q10 more (couldn't be bothered to argue), then that price didn't include air con, and we went on to discover that there was no hot water (as promised).

Plus side, it has nice views of the lake from the balcony and there are loads of nice places to eat nearby.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OllieSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    29
    20
    18
    23
See reviews for
7
56
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I got a basic private room for Q60. I only stayed one night because it was terrible. The bathroom had no screen for the window so the plants intruded into the shower as to create a "rainforest" but even worse was the fact that mosquitoes were coming into the room as the door to the bathroom had been broken off its hinges. The staff doesn't seem to want to be there either. I did also notice some ants on the bed and had to sweep them off before bedding down. I went to Doña Goya 1 across the street for only Q10 more and had a much better stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leandro0341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flores hotels

Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

this hostel is one of the best that i stayed in Guatemala, the family that work there are friendly and the view from the roof is beautifull...i was in a private room cheap, clean, and good environment....

I RECOMEND THIS HOTEL FOR ME WAS PERFECT

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adri-ana0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Left after one night despite pre-paying for two. Shock from shoddy electrical work in the shower and hopping with fleas. Possible bed-bugs as there was lots of small blood marks on the sheets. No toilet seats in some rooms. It is a trap. Go elsewhere if possible. There are cheaper and better alternatives.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonOstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We moved out after 1 night due to the cleanliness of the room and the shower - we paid just under $20 but doesn't mean we can live in a very basic and dirty looking room. The location is ideal but most accommodation in Flores is!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoGoGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Unfortunately our experience at Hotel Casa del Lacandon was not a good one. The place is run by one family, which is normally cause for encouragement. But this family seem to dislike their guests and clearly don't enjoy running a hotel.

The positives are the stunning views over Lake Peten (which you can get from 90% of hotels on the island of Flores) and the low price. In my opinion, no price is low enough to endure the standard of service and accommodation we received.

The room was dirty, with litter and dirt on the floor. The bed was itchy. The ceiling fan didn't work. There were no towels or toilet paper until we asked. The room was not cleaned so we requested someone go in and clean, empty the bin in the toilet etc. after two days. The lady at the desk was dismissive and said "Yes, yes, in a minute". Four hours later, I took the bin down to the reception desk myself and asked for an empty bin liner. After much fussing and incredulity, I was given a used carrier bag.

But the thing that tipped the balance in the end was the awful smell coming from the bathroom, where the cover had long since broken away from the toilet seat and presumably been removed and not replaced. We bought some air-freshener from a local shop but it was no use. We ended up making our excuses, cutting our stay short and escaping to another hotel, of which there an abundance available.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingfoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed there one night and thought the room was good on a quick inspection but after we had settled in we realized that we were grossly mistaken. We had to ask for towels and toilet paper which were not already in the room, soap was unavailable and service was poor. We felt like we were intruding on their place and were left feeling like we were lucky that were willing to let us stay. Rubbish was left in the common area all day and upon leaving for our tour in the morning while waiting for the bus outside we had just walked out when they came and locked the front door. When we wanted to put our bags back in our room we got told that they couldn't open the doors again because they had 'lost' the key they just used to lock us out meaning we had to take all our stuff with us on the Tikal tour which left us very unimpressed after they had told us it was ok to leave downstairs for 10Q. Hot water is non existent which we got told was available. Overall it had left a bad taste in our mouth about our stay. Best avoided unless desperate. Only positive was the location.
Oh and don't trust ENRIQUE who free lances for the tour agency across the road. Extremely sneaky and will not tell you about hidden charges and will always quote a higher price then drop it to the "official" price. Nothing goes to plan when booking with him.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaydenBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Green World Hotel
Green World Hotel
#11 of 16 in Flores
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 16 in Flores
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Yaxha
Hostel Yaxha
#5 of 24 in Flores
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa Del Lacandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa Del Lacandon

Property: Hotel La Casa Del Lacandon
Address: Calle Union, Flores, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Casa Del Lacandon 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this small water front hotel situated close to the islands town center. Stores, travel agencies, atms and restaurants are close. Our staff attends in English, German and Spanish. During checkin our guests receive information about the hotels rules/regulations, laundry service and things to do on the island like canoe/cajak rentals, the lakes rope swing and economic but good places to eat. We offer rooms for all budgets from dorm to private rooms with balcony, Lakeview and air condition. Our guests can also enjoy the Sunset from our Terrace while taking advantage of the hotels free wifi access. All rooms have screened Windows, incorporated bathrooms with a hot water shower and a toilet. Since the beginning of this year 2016 the establishment is undergoing a complete step by step renovation and various other improvements. We confirm reservations by email or phone.You aré welcome to stay with us. We are looking forward to meeting you and try to make you have a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel La Casa Del Lacandon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing