We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the lake”
Review of Hotel Peten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Peten
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed here for a night in a twin room with my friend while we were visting the Tikal ruins near Flores. We had pre-booked on the internet and paid $50/night. Our room was on the 2nd floor and very large, with 2 double beds and a single. The view of the lake was great and very welcome after enduring an overnight bus from Playa then another shuttle from Belize to Flores!

The room was clean the bathroom was good with a strong shower. The pool in the reception was great to swim in after we had come back from the ruins and had already checked out. The breakfast in the restaurant was very yummy (extra cost). The decor of this place is a bit dated but it was a comfortable and quiet hotel. The airconditioning was also very good!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queenjojo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 183 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed here as part of a group tour and we were impressed right away with the location right on the lake and the views from the rooms. The hotel was fairly clean and had a pool and restaurant right across the street from the lake. There was AC which was needed in the heat. The staff were very friendly. We also were in short walking distance of restaurants and ATM machines and we spent some time across from the hotel at the little bar on the lake watching the sunsets. Lovely little place to stay and about 45 mins to Tikal I think.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna_12Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Not exactly the 5 star place someone had told us, but comfortable enough rooms with magical sunset views over lake (ask for lake view rooms – no difference in price) Good value. V small (and internal!) pool . Good for large goldfish. Pleasant staff, opposite good landing stage for lake swimming (watch the steps they are slippery!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilymor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We got to the hotel around 3pm after our one day tour at Tikal. We were so exhausted we decided to skip dinner and just sleep in. The hotel is a little old, the beds a little small but at least it's clean and the air con works (believe me, this is critical). Only thing is we had to lug our heavy luggage up the stairs, but I guess that's most of Guatemala... especially for botique hotels. There's a bar/ restaurant right in front of the hotel, and I'm sure it has a good location. However, because it was a Sat night, it was noisy all through till midnight. Fortunately, we were so tired we slept through it all. Flores looks like a really small place, but I suppose it's a good place to spend the night before/ after Tikal tour.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank travel-bitten-shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

True to the other reviews, the room was clean and spacious but it was the staff that made our short stay so good. I found I really needed my (limited) Spanish but through it all, they were extremely helpful getting my travel papers – front desk receptionists and security person – and teen age son’s souvenir cap back to us when we forgot to get them from our driver. The servers in the restaurant were extremely attentive and polite. Service was lovely all around.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

this is one of the finest hotel in Peten if you arrange to get a room on the lake. the location is fantanstic on the island, and the personnel very warming. Ask to have a view on the lake as it makes the difference. It is equivalent to a good 3-star hotel in Europe, and I do not believe there is much better around.

The swimming pool is not huge and not warmed (but I still managed to get a few dives in it!).
highly recommended if you visit the wonderful island of Flores. At last, personnel is always very helpful and proactive.

the only downside of the Hotel Peten is the status of the bedroom which would require (to my opinion) a refreshing work.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marseillais-d-Ecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The website and photos make this appear more modern and attractive than it is. While the view of the lake(right across the street) was great, our room was dark, small, and rather shabby; it had the feel of a 50's motel. I would certainly not stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
224 reviews
5.3 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 16 in Flores
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peten

Address: Calle 30 de Junio, Flores 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range: $34 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Peten 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flores’ island first hotel to welcome guests has now turned into an icon of the region. Updated and cost efficient rooms are complemented with great common areas and pool that overlook the Petén Itza Lake. Located on Flores Island, 5 minutes away from the international airport and 60 minutes from Tikal National Park. The pool and “La Chaya” restaurant/bar, are located on the first level of the hotel, these two areas add up to be the favorite spots to have a great time with friends, family and your significant other . “La Chaya” features international cuisine as well as options inspired by local Petén ingredients that, together with a great vibe, make this terrace a perfect place to enjoy your afternoons while watching breathtaking sunsets. Many of our rooms feature lake views, as we are conveniently located on Flores’ Island lakeside street. All rooms feature A/C, TV, complimentary Wifi, full bathrooms, etc. In our lobby, we offer a complete array of tours that we can set up for you to make it extremely easy to discover Petén and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Peten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing