We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yeah not bad”
Review of Hotel Sabana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sabana
Ranked #3 of 17 Flores B&B and Inns
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“yeah not bad”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Situated close to the water. Rooms were spacious and not too bad. Hot water was intermittent at best. There was mention of happy hour at the bar downstairs but when we asked it seemed as though it didnt exist. Pool was nice. Staff were average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anhemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    40
    31
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
35
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I haven't seen any other hotels in Flores but this is the most overpriced place ($45 a night for a double) we've stayed in Central America. I guess the old friendly staff left. Rooms are definitely basic with old pillows and mattresses and our room with a lake view had no wifi. Location on the water is nice but every other hotel here is also on the water.

Room Tip: Only the rooms closest to the lobby have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingkeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flores hotels

Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Rooms are basic and not too attractive, but has AC, fan, TV, hot water and towels.
We had pretty small room with no window, and it felt mossy when we turned the AC on.
The pool is great, and the view over the lake is beautiful. Location is great as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moranshanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashaway, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

With no reservation they were able to accomodate us. Our room had a beautiful view of the lake. There was a band playing by the lake on Sunday evening. However by 10PM it was over and we were able to get a good nights rest. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newengland83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Hotel Sabana was recommended by our guides who took us to Tikal. Rooms are somewhat dated, but well equipped with cable, hot water, balcony and air conditioning. There is a great pool area with beautiful views of Lake Peten. Close proximity to restaurants and stores, then again Flores is quite tiny! The staff here are friendly and helpful.
I would recommend staying here, you won't find the bells and whistles but you won't pay for them either!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adagal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio dulce, guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I've stayed in Flores several times, trying a different hotel on each visit. I found the Sabana to be the best so far, due mainly to the employees. From the first impression at the reception desk, to the many kindnesses shown throughout our stay, i will remember and recommend this hotel to any visitors to Flores.
Other reviews covered the view, cleanliness, pool, etc. I agree with all of them.
One member of our group had a medical issue, the caring staff called a doctor who arrived at the hotel, did his house call routine, re-visited, and all at no charge. This made for a memorable experience which could have been a nightmare. They are all winners!

Room Tip: The a/c was located above a door, had no remote, had to stand on chair to change settings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank encor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I've stayed a few times at Hotel Sabana in the past and have never had any problems at all. The hotel staff is always friendly and there is a place that does laundry right across the street. I recommend it to anyone who visits the area and who wants a/c in their room at a reasonable price of $30/night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayaruinsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 16 in Flores
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sabana

Property: Hotel Sabana
Address: Calle Fraternidad-Union | Calle Fraternidad-Union, Flores 0000, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sabana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern end of the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing