We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy meal with an excellent view.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant La Villa del Chef

Restaurant La Villa del Chef
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Guatemalan, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fairfield, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy meal with an excellent view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The food was wonderful and filling. The service was great and one of the owners stopped by our table to ensure everything was perfect. Beyond the expertly prepared food and great service the personal touch is what will make this stand out in our minds. They are involved in making the community better which was uplifting to see. If you are looking for a break and a few extra veggies this is the place to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StephanieTorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    104
    22
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good for such a remote spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Being out in the middle of nowhere in Guatemala, my expectations were not very high: simple but honest food is usually the most I can wish for in such places. This restaurant surprised me in every detail, I have to say! First, the juices I ordered were made into frozen smoothies -- very refreshing for such a hot place, and much appreciated after a long day walking all around the beautiful Mayan ruins of Tikal. Next, a tasty (& free) loaf of bread covered in pumpkin seeds, which seemed like it was made locally (not sure). And then the main course: a fresh water fish which is a local delicacy (forget the name...). Not only was the fish itself very tasty and plentiful, but the sides were excellent too. The fries were home made wedges (not the frozen MacDonald's-like stuff you get everywhere), with a tasty garlic/parsley flavoring. The salad was mostly cucumber and was simply delicious, with a home made dressing that was not overpowering in flavor. Did I mention that the setting is superb, with a view to the sunset over then lake? Finally, service was WAY above average for Latin American standards. You can tell the staff is well trained! I think I'll be going back tomorrow for more - but this time leaving space for dessert!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank F8R8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver2111, Manager at Restaurant La Villa del Chef, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Feriva888, thank you for your review. We are trying hard to get everybody happy. The smoothies are all natural pure fruit, ice cold & freshly prepared, no preservatives or water added. The bread we bake daily (my grandma´s recipe). The fish is the famous white fish "Blanco". The fries are real potatoes made fresh with homemade seasoning. All our ingredients are fresh, I myself do the buying every single day, ensuring quality & freshness! Thank you for recognizing this extra effort also in regards to training the staff! Thank you & have a safe trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Flores Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I wandered here to simply get a snack of guacamole after an overnight bus trip from Guate City. I expected simply some chips and fresh dip.
Instead, it was a lovely pile of amazing homemade tortillas, creamy guacamole, fresh red beans and jalapeños, and the ripest tomatoes I have found inCentral America.
I was so impressed with the impeccable ingredients that I went back for happy hour and dinner, (try the mojito and the pescado blanco!).
I also made a pit stop back through Flores on my way down through Guatemala from Belize and went back and brought friends.
Some of the freshest ingredients in all of Guate, a kind staff, a wonderful vibe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The mojitos & veggie burgers are great! Plus, the friendly staff & atmosphere add to the overall experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Rkingmusic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We really enjoyed La Villa. We had salads
and frsh fish. The fish was excellent.

Overall a very good experience and good
value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Ernesto E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Villa del Chef also viewed

 
Flores, Peten Department
 

Been to Restaurant La Villa del Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing