We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms with gorgeous views and terraces over the lake”
Review of Hotel Casazul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casazul
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
southwest England
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Huge rooms with gorgeous views and terraces over the lake”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We reserved a room at the top with a lake view...spectacular views and excellent value. The rooms are very large and well appointed. The fridge is very useful for keeping snacks to eat on the terrace outside the room which has tables and chairs and sofas. Just out of the centre, it is a quick walk to everywhere while being in a quiet and restful location. The hotel does not offer breakfast, but there are plenty of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pensioner090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    79
    34
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
90
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ignacio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed at Casazul for a few nights last week. Although the room was nice enough, and the balcony was spectacular, it wasn't really anything exceptional. A few complaints: not being able to get two keys made it difficult for our group to be able to get in and out of the room / the ceiling on the staircase is quite low and my father kept hitting his head on it / nice balcony = a noisy noisy balcony. Our room faced the balcony which meant that I didn't get much sleep until everyone else went to bed.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broken8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Great place.
Booked in advance online.
Good room - with fridge and cold beers - ready to enjoy on the balcony with a stunning view!
Friendly staff who coped well with our broken Spanish.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMelanges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

The hotel is small with decent sized rooms. The top floor (303) rooms have a huge balcony overlooking the lake. Breakfast turned out to be roomservice. Tipico breakfast was included in the price. Rooms are cleaned daily with towels folded into a different animal every day. Staff was friendly and cooperative. Rooms have a fridge / minibar. We had a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gl0balista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

This hotel cost us $35 a night... as the other reviewers suggest, ask for a water-view. Although the quaint hotel is not the newest of new as far as decor or fittings go.... Casazul is clean, comfy and convenient. Flores Island is tiny so you're guaranteed to be close to everything wherever you stay.. however, this hotel does have a strip of good restaurants on it's block which is extra handy. Casazul is an easy and safe option for Flores.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We prebooked two nights in Casa Azul through a tour operator in the UK and were pleasantly surprised by how nice it was!
We arrived on an early flight from Guatemala City, and obviously we couldn't check in straight away, but we were allowed to leave our bags behind the reception desk till 1pm, which was a good start (although the staff don't speak English so it was a bit of a linguistic challenge!). Our room (203 I think) was huge - two double beds, bathroom (although a barely tinted glass door...!) and a giant walk in wardrobe. We also had access to the balcony overlooking the lake, and both the balcony door and the bedroom door had bolts and chains so we felt safe at night too.
The toiletries and vanity kit etc in the bathroom were a nice touch, as was the way they made our clean towels into a dog on the second day - so cute! The free tea and coffee downstairs was also a bonus.
I think there are cheaper places to stay in Flores, but this is a really nice budget hotel for those who don't want to give up all their home comforts just to save a few dollars.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

To give an idea of context for this review, we were a group of 3 girls (aged 20, 31 & 32)spending 5 weeks travelling through Central America. We didn't fancy roughing it in hostels, but at the same time we were on a budget and couldnt afford to splurge.
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights from 12th August 2010.

Location: Flores is an island on a huge lake and the hotel is situated on a front row street so that we had an amazing view of the sunset from the balcony. Definitely make sure you request a balcony, although there is a communal terrace upstairs (but we didnt see this), so you could appreciate the view from there. The hotel is right by one of the small 'boardwalk/jetty' things that are dotted around the lake and when we were there, there were always a bunch of travellers hanging out there, catching the sun and jumping into the lake.
Along the same street as the hotel are loads of lovely and reasonably priced restaurants.

Room: The rooms were fantastic. We stayed in room 204 which was on the 1st floor and was a huge room with 3 double beds, a minibar, TV, desk, shower, a/c and the huge balcony.

Breakfast: Despite there being a menu in the room, we were told that because it was low season, there was no food being served there, but that the sister hotel just round the corner had a restaurant there and also a swimming pool.
There is complimentary tea and coffee downstairs in the lobby.

Price: For the triple room for 2 nights we paid a total of US$116 booked via email- reservaciones@hotelesdepeten.com (www.hotelesdepeten.com)

Tips: When booking, the hotel offers a Tikal trip for US $75 per person. We didnt book with them as we thought we'd see what we could arrange in Flores. We arrived and on the same street as the hotel, there are loads of small tourist offices. We simply went into one of these and booked a Tikal tour for the very next day. We did the one where you get collected from your hotel at 430am. It includes return transportation to the park, an english speaking guide and the entrance fee to the park and cost just 300Quetzals per person (£24 / US$37). The Tikal tour was well worth it- we had a great time!

Overall i would 100% recommend this hotel, and Flores was beautiful- we wished we'd stayed longer than just 2 nights there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doublechoc-chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
5.2 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 16 in Flores
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casazul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casazul

Property: Hotel Casazul
Address: Calle La Union | Isla de Flores, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casazul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colorful and cute curbside house turned hotel with 9 rooms and a terrace to fall in love with Flores’ sunsets. Located in Flores island, 5 minutes away from the international airport and 60 minutes from Tikal National Park. Recently in June 2017, the hotel was awarded Trip Advisor’s Certificate of Excellence Award based on our unique service and the positive experiences shared by our guests. Casazul hotel is located on the lakeside street, 5 minutes by foot from any of the Island’s active spots. Our location allows us to enjoy peace , quiet and privacy yet at the same time being close enough to walk 5 minutes to any place in the Island. Rooms feature either lake views or street views. All rooms feature A/C and/or ceiling fans, complimentary Wi-Fi, full bathrooms, etc. In our lobby, we offer a complete array of tours that we can set up for you to make it extremely easy to discover Peten and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Casazul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing