We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and fabulous view”
Review of Hotel Casazul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casazul
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a wonderful place. I was fortunate enough to have a room on the top floor looking out over the lake, great view. The place is not a super luxury but lovely and wonderful nonetheless, there were a lot of lovely little touches that made a nice difference. The staff we fantastic. I had an issue with the morning of my departure and they were so helpful in helping me sort out the issue. They brought me tea and coffee while I waited and even the to go lunch so I could have something to eat. The room was very comfortable and clean and the ac was great especially after a day in the humidity of Tikal. Though not expected it was nice to have hair dryer and mini fridge. Yes it is a good drive from Tikal but as most tourists stay in Flores there is plenty of transport to get you to there plus there are a lot of shops, bars and restaurants in town and it is a great place to wander around

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanieboyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 196 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We returned to Aguazul for 2 nights. The staff were friendly and helpful (BTW, we speak fluent Spanish). The room was clean and quiet, with a good view of the lake from a shared balcony. The included breakfast (served by staff from their sister hotel, Hotel Petén) was OK. This hotel continues to be fairly good value for money.

Room Tip: 3rd (top) floor rooms overlooking the lake are best, but we were happy with our 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Beautiful views of the lake and nice seating area at top balcony. Rooms basic, looked fairly clean. Air-conditioning and fan in room (you will need it). Inexpensive cold beer and chilled glasses available at reception. Staff friendly and helpful, but don't expect English language skills.
Inexpensive hotel and suitable for overnighting (assumption being that you'll be running around Tikal all day).

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor seemed nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked the hotel over the Internet coming from Belize. The room was big with the very nice lake view; the beds were very comfortable. The hotel is a bit overpriced and would be good to have at least breakfast included, which was not the case. The reception lady and guy do not speak English at all, which is a bit difficult but they were genuinly positive and were trying to communicate despite of language;)

Room Tip: Choose big room vith the lake view if you want to stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

AC is a must while in Flores. We had cold AC, hot water. Room was clean. No coffee in the morning which was disappointing. No breakfast, but several cafes nearby. Not many English speakers, so bring a phrase book at least, if you don't know any Spanish. Does not have a pool.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaking61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked and paid for the Hotel Casazul from July 13-15th 2013. Upon arriving in Flores we were sadly disappointed with the level of accommodation and resturants on the entire island! I am sure that the Hotel Casazul was of reasonable standard in comparison to some of the others but it wasn't great. I visited the lobby toilet upon arrival which was full of diarrhea and cobwebs. So we lifted our bags and left dispite having paid for it on hotels.com. We took a short tuk-tuk ride back across to the mainland of St Elena and stayed in the Hotel Casona del Lago which was far far superior.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_Reid81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Spent one night here so we could get an early start to Tikal. It was just OK. The room was clean The lighting was very dark and eerie. You could not even try to read by that light. The decor was old looking and I am not fussy with stuff like that but clean. My room was off the terrace on the top floor. The sprawling communal terrace was lovely and had a nice view of the lake. They served breakfast out there which was good. The people working there seemed half asleep but were attentive. They did not speak any English but I feel it is my job to try to communicate in the language of the country I am in. The "bar" was a couple bottles of liquor sitting on top of the cabinet. It was amusing - bare bones.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldiept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 16 in Flores
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casazul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casazul

Address: Calle La Union | Isla de Flores, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range: $56 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casazul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colorful and cute curbside house turned hotel with 9 rooms and a terrace to fall in love with Flores’ sunsets. Located in Flores island, 5 minutes away from the international airport and 60 minutes from Tikal National Park. Recently in June 2017, the hotel was awarded Trip Advisor’s Certificate of Excellence Award based on our unique service and the positive experiences shared by our guests. Casazul hotel is located on the lakeside street, 5 minutes by foot from any of the Island’s active spots. Our location allows us to enjoy peace , quiet and privacy yet at the same time being close enough to walk 5 minutes to any place in the Island. Rooms feature either lake views or street views. All rooms feature A/C and/or ceiling fans, complimentary Wi-Fi, full bathrooms, etc. In our lobby, we offer a complete array of tours that we can set up for you to make it extremely easy to discover Peten and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Casazul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing