We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casa Amelia
Nearby Hotels
$268
$260
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$70
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Peten(Flores)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
129
161
40
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
161
40
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastour room had a great viewsimple breakfastroof terracehot waterbig windowstop floorwatching the sunseta great place to staythe air conditioningenjoy the viewtriple roomcute hotelearly in the morningoverlooking the lakesmall islandwifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 342 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I called on the way to Flores to see if they had rooms. I was told they had a double bed with air and bath for 300 Q. When I arrived, at 8:00PM we got a nonview with air &bath and were charged 400 Q. This was the Sat. before Easter, no other rooms available.

The price difference was not a misunderstanding. My spanish is quite good. I heard 300 and wrote down 300. So dispite whatever quotes you get, you may want a backup plan. There are other hotels nearby.

There was loud music which continued until 2:00AM, but then it was Sat.

The room was clean, recently painted, with good hot water shower.

There was no breakfast included in the price. There was no coffee included either, I asked.

So it was a nice but overpriced room w/AC but ruined by the bait &switch pricing.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest:

We appreciate with respect you deserve for your comments regarding your experience at the Hotel, like your comment help us improve our weak points so we can reach out to accommodate our needs and in all about spending your expectations. It is a pleasure to have you as a guest and they encourage us to go ahead and help them become better every day.

Thank you for your valuable comments.
Esperanza Díaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We only stayed here a night, and had a 4 am wake up to get to Tikal, so we didn't spend a lot of time here. The location seemed good, right on the water, but it was super loud when we were trying to sleep, granted we went to bed early. The front desk staff was friendly but not knowledgeable or helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjroehrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest


We appreciate with respect you deserve for your comments regarding your experience at the Hotel, like your comment help us improve our weak points so we can reach out to accommodate our needs and in all about spending your expectations. It is a pleasure to have you as a guest and they encourage us to go ahead and help them become better every day.

Thank you for your valuable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Casa Amelia exceeded our expectations. We had a room facing the lake with wonderful views. The room itself was spacious, clean and very nice - and the price what your got made it an extremely good value. We loved the roof top terrace - sharing a bottle of wine up there beats any of the fancier bars/restaurants touting the views. The staff was super helpful and the location couldn't be beat - highly recommend this little gem.

Room Tip: ask for one of the 4 rooms directly facing the lake
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear guest

We are happy to read your good comment, Thanks for sharing your experience as this always motivates us to work even more better for your safety and comfort in your journey to make your stay unforgettable Hotel Casa Amelia. We hope to return.

Kind regards
Esperanza Díaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very nice and cozy hotel. Breakfast is included in the price of room. Staff very pleasant and helpful. We had a room on the roof so the terrace was all for us at night and the view on the lake from there...amazing sunsets :) Restaurant has very tasty guacamole and drinks. There's a colony of grackle birds in the vicinity and every morning and evening they apear and give a loud concert :) Buts for me it's better than crowds of people ;)

Room Tip: There's a travel agency located opposite to Casa Amelia main entrance. We bought there tickets for a van to Tikal and tickets to Belize. Very nice owner :)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarolinaRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest

We appreciate your good comments about our services, it's good for us and a real pleasure to make you feel at home and meet their needs. We appreciate the time you take to comment on our service is a valuable recommendation to our potential visitors and move on to a better service.

Regards
Esperanza Díaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed in several places in Flores. Casa Amelia is just as clean as any more spacious than most and has a Great Lake view and roof top terrace. Staff is friendly. Even helped carry up luggage- others have not.
Nothing fancy but just a good place to stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear guest

We appreciate your comments regarding your experience at the Hotel, like yours helps us improve our weaknesses so we can reach out to accommodate our needs and in all about spending your expectations. It is a pleasure to have you as a guest and they encourage us to go ahead and help them become better every day.

Thank you for your valuable comments.

Regards
Esperanza Díaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews