We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, great location, AC that works! Maybe a little over priced”
Review of Hotel Casa Amelia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Amelia
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean room, great location, AC that works! Maybe a little over priced”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here on two nights either side of an overnight trip to Tikal. The first room we had was a triple room and there was plenty of room for two of us. The pillows were good, sheets clean, hot shower and great AC. The free continental breakfast was very ordinary. Would suggest skipping it and going elsewhere. We left our bags with the hotel while we went to Tikal overnight and this was no problem. When we came back we had a lake facing room on the second floor, great view. Smaller room but still ok for two of us and great AC again ( newer AC so quieter which was good), clean room, good sheets, pillows. We left early next morning but they had cereal out for those leaving before 6.30 am which was appreciated. Also free water bottle refills so bring your water bottle and save the environment from plastic bottles. The only negative would be the price. At 400Q it was on the high end, they charge the maximum amount allowed plus taxes.

We used Crasborn Travel Agency across the road from the hotel for our Tikal trip and bus to Belize and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

Is a great pleasure to hear your good comment on our service, we thank you for sharing your good experience at Casa Amelia Hotel, because we actually care about their welfare and appreciate your visit, thanks distinguished guests look forward to serving the best in your next stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    150
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
35
159
53
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I called on the way to Flores to see if they had rooms. I was told they had a double bed with air and bath for 300 Q. When I arrived, at 8:00PM we got a nonview with air &bath and were charged 400 Q. This was the Sat. before Easter, no other rooms available.

The price difference was not a misunderstanding. My spanish is quite good. I heard 300 and wrote down 300. So dispite whatever quotes you get, you may want a backup plan. There are other hotels nearby.

There was loud music which continued until 2:00AM, but then it was Sat.

The room was clean, recently painted, with good hot water shower.

There was no breakfast included in the price. There was no coffee included either, I asked.

So it was a nice but overpriced room w/AC but ruined by the bait &switch pricing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate with respect you deserve for your comments regarding your experience at the Hotel, like your comment help us improve our weak points so we can reach out to accommodate our needs and in all about spending your expectations. It is a pleasure to have you as a guest and they encourage us to go ahead and help them become better every day.

Thank you for your valuable comments.
Esperanza Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We only stayed here a night, and had a 4 am wake up to get to Tikal, so we didn't spend a lot of time here. The location seemed good, right on the water, but it was super loud when we were trying to sleep, granted we went to bed early. The front desk staff was friendly but not knowledgeable or helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjroehrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest


We appreciate with respect you deserve for your comments regarding your experience at the Hotel, like your comment help us improve our weak points so we can reach out to accommodate our needs and in all about spending your expectations. It is a pleasure to have you as a guest and they encourage us to go ahead and help them become better every day.

Thank you for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Casa Amelia exceeded our expectations. We had a room facing the lake with wonderful views. The room itself was spacious, clean and very nice - and the price what your got made it an extremely good value. We loved the roof top terrace - sharing a bottle of wine up there beats any of the fancier bars/restaurants touting the views. The staff was super helpful and the location couldn't be beat - highly recommend this little gem.

Room Tip: ask for one of the 4 rooms directly facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear guest

We are happy to read your good comment, Thanks for sharing your experience as this always motivates us to work even more better for your safety and comfort in your journey to make your stay unforgettable Hotel Casa Amelia. We hope to return.

Kind regards
Esperanza Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olsztyn, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very nice and cozy hotel. Breakfast is included in the price of room. Staff very pleasant and helpful. We had a room on the roof so the terrace was all for us at night and the view on the lake from there...amazing sunsets :) Restaurant has very tasty guacamole and drinks. There's a colony of grackle birds in the vicinity and every morning and evening they apear and give a loud concert :) Buts for me it's better than crowds of people ;)

Room Tip: There's a travel agency located opposite to Casa Amelia main entrance. We bought there tickets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarolinaRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your good comments about our services, it's good for us and a real pleasure to make you feel at home and meet their needs. We appreciate the time you take to comment on our service is a valuable recommendation to our potential visitors and move on to a better service.

Regards
Esperanza Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in several places in Flores. Casa Amelia is just as clean as any more spacious than most and has a Great Lake view and roof top terrace. Staff is friendly. Even helped carry up luggage- others have not.
Nothing fancy but just a good place to stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest

We appreciate your comments regarding your experience at the Hotel, like yours helps us improve our weaknesses so we can reach out to accommodate our needs and in all about spending your expectations. It is a pleasure to have you as a guest and they encourage us to go ahead and help them become better every day.

Thank you for your valuable comments.

Regards
Esperanza Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caye Caulker, Belize
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for several nights and was pleased with Casa Amelia. More importantly, as Flores was a stepping stone for further travels, Guate City, Antigua and the Pacific coast. We found the most gracious Guatemala couple who own and run Crasborn Travel Agency. Located behind Casa Amelia. Sergio and Karina are absolutely the most kind, courteous and professional people I have every dealt with in my travels throughout Central America. They went out of their way to make our journey(s) the most comfortable and secure. Sergio can speak a fair amount of English, which makes the planning very easy. They escorted us to our bus, treated us with so much respect...we felt like family, and have gone back with the same fine service each time . Thank you Cashburn Travel !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDITA, Propietario at Hotel Casa Amelia, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest:

We gratify hearing your comments about our service, thanks for giving us your time to share your experience, your safety and comfort is our compromise . Will be happy to serve you in another time.

Kind Regards
Esperanza Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 16 in Flores
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Amelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Amelia

Property: Hotel Casa Amelia
Address: Calle La Union | Ciudad Flores Peten Guatemala/ CA, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Amelia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa Amelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Amelia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing