We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”
Review of Hotel Casa Amelia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Amelia
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Stayed at Casa Amelia for 3 nights. Had great view over Lake Peten Itza, room was spotlessly clean, great roof terrace for sunsets and extremely friendly and helpful reception/managment. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucy_witham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    148
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
158
53
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Spotless super clean rooms, the owner provides us with all the information needed and was very helpful, free use of the pc and internet, our room had a gorgeous view of the Lake Peten Itza...what more else could I say? Great place for $40.00/night/couple.
Stayed here with my mom for 3 nights and we were extremely satisfied with the service.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mass1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The title says it all.

As a bonus, there's also a rooftop accessible on the third floor, we had no idea until the morning we were checking out.

The only negative is that it can be a bit loud on the main drag at night. Other than that, loved it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Flores is tiny so any location is good (max 5 min walk anywhere). This is on the lakefront with great views and a lovely roof terrace.
Room very basic, but big and clean. WiFi, PC in reception (all free) hot water, shampoo, soap, handtowels. Think it may be one of the more expensive options (don't know of any really expensive ones!), but at $US40 / £25, this was perfect for us.
They booked our transport to Tikal for 60QT pp.
Loved breakfast at the cafe opposite.
Basic rooms, recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We stayed at the Casa Amelia because of the good reviews. After our visit I concur with those. The room was spartan but clean with nice hot water in the shower. The staff was great which is what you want in Flores to help arrange trips or the shuttle to Tikal. I didn't believe the bad review about the charge card problem and after staying at the Casa Amelia if there was a problem I don't believe it was because of anything the hotel did. Have no fear and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oriontony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This place is 'fine' for a quick 1 nighter on your way to Tikal...but I would want to linger there much longer. The staff were helpful, arranged a great tour with Danilo, and their restaurant is good. I'm not sure Flores has many nicer options.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyPSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayo, Belize
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2010

The service was great and the staff was so friendly. We stayed in one of the rooftop rooms and it had a panoramic view of the lake. Location of the hotel is just perfect and all amenities were good, the water was hot, t.v and a.c were working. Although the beds are quite small but they are very comfortable. It was a great stay...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcDm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 16 in Flores
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
5.3 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Amelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Amelia

Property: Hotel Casa Amelia
Address: Calle La Union | Ciudad Flores Peten Guatemala/ CA, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Amelia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa Amelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Amelia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing