We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stop ”

Devil's Rope and Route 66 Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in McLean
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum dedicated to showing the story of the West through barbed wire, cattle brands and route 66 memorabilia.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Must stop ”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in on our route 66 adventure. Could have spent hours in here. You would not think barbed wire would have such a significant history but it does. Also cool route 66 history section and dust bowl pictures. Loved the lady working there as well. Please donate to keep it going folks.

Helpful?
Thank Kristin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    29
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We were really looking forward to visiting and it didn’t disappoint.

From the outside it looks quite small, however, inside it’s really big. I never knew there were so many types of barbed wire! The lady on the counter asked me if Billy Connolly had sent us. We spent much longer there than planned as we were fascinated by the whole place, and of course we managed to spend money in the gift shop (what family trip isn’t complete without three bags of barbed wire bits?).

Free museum – fantastic, well worth the visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiciaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Barbed Wire prickles your curiosity”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Amazing free museum in McLean, TX. It is a huge place with Route 66 memorabillia, fantastic Dust Bowl photos and an unbelievable collection of barbed wire. It is fascinating to see so many different styles, uses, etc. of barbed wire. Even WWII historical uses. Creative uses, too. The docent was really nice. Try to spend time here on your Route 66 travels.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RosalieBelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hilarious!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This place is like no place I have ever been or likely to ever see again!
Completely ridiculous and thankfully free!
Stop by for a giggle.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Route 66 Stop - Nice”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Unbelievable collection and history behind Barbed-Wire's making and importance of its use. This is a nice stop along the Route 66.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Rope and Route 66 Museum also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Rope and Route 66 Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing