We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place,great people.”
Review of Cactus Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cactus Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 McLean B&B and Inns
Winnsboro, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place,great people.”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed last year during a trip from Texas to Colorado. The rooms were cute, clean and comfortable. The steakhouse up the road had awesome food. Peggy was a most gracious host. We are traveling to Colorado again this week and will most certainly be staying again. Hope to see you Friday or Saturday.
I was reading the reviews and I can't imagine anyone having anything negative to say about this Motel : )

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shoegirl907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
27
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Here is a chance to sample a bit of history and stay in a typical motel that use to line the original Rte 66 before the building of the Interstate system. The Cactus Inn Motel is located in the small town of McLean, TX off of I-40 which during it's heyday contained 16 gas stations and numerous cafes and motels. What you get for $50 is a basic clean room with WiFi. The steakhouse (Red River) next door is also recommended. We stay here twice a year on our drive from NH to Tucson. So skip the big hotels in Shamrock and give this gem a try.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here three times in the last few years on our way from Arkansas to New Mexico to visit family. It's a throwback to the old days, without pretense or anything else other than a comfortable little room in a small town on the old Rt 66/I-40 highway. Peggy and her husband are very sweet people who make you feel welcome, and the Red River Steakhouse next door is a great place to eat and enjoy after a long day on the road. As long as the present owners continue to manage the Cactus Inn, we will be back--it's much preferable to an impersonal chain motel in a larger city a few miles down the road.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gtl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Where do I begin?
My fiance & I were quite, quite pleased @ this one! We had been driving old Route 66 through the Southern part of Oklahoma that day; needless to say we were exhausted! The lady who checked us in was really quite sweet & we even chatted about "who had the most sounding Irish names". Hungry as we were, we inquired about food.
She kinda mumbled something about a convience store across town. Apon further research, the town's restaurant seemed to be closed on Sundays. Sooo, exhausted as we were, my fiance and I were like "we can survive on trail mix for the night".
To make a long story short, we were greeted with true "Southern Hospitality" by the facilities man Butch. Hotdogs, beers, salad... he fed us!!! He was a character & nice guy.
As my fiance said, "that was a good 'welcome to texas' night."
And I agree.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brognome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucumcari, New Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

When traveling across the panhandle of Texas, skip the hustle and bustle of the big city to enjoy the Cactus Inn Motel! We have stayed several times, and each time, the service was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. The Red River Steakhouse next door is one of the best restaurants around, too. McLean isn't a fancy town, but there are interesting and historic sights to see (like the Devil's Rope Museum), and it's quiet for a nice walk and a good night's sleep. Don't miss this little gem!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krmtrains1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

The Cactus Inn was the most pleasant site driving on 40/66 after the sun had set. Peggy the manager (a gem of a soul) was very accommodating as I was able to secure one of the last rooms available. The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot. The amenities were simple, but I would stay again, and I would make a reservation to make sure I wasnt left out in the cold--or heat--of the day. I agree with others...worth every penny. Excellent would be reserved for a longer stay to take in more of the surrounding area and enjoy the room for more than just a late-night stop and early morning departure. Well done, Peggy! The coffee in the room was good, by the way.

Room Tip: It's a Route 66 location--it doesnt matter, but 16 is next to the laundry room, so it is quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MeMeDaVinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed here Sept. 13, 2011 and were happy with our first "vintage" Route 66 motel experience. It was clean and well kept up for an older motel. The owner-manager (?), Peggy, could give lessons in friendliness to the chain motel personnel. While there isn't much in McLean, we ate at Wildflower (deli & pizza) where we enjoyed chatting with McLean residents. It was also fun to relax outside of our room in the evening and visit with our fellow travelers...oh so small town!! The price was great!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAFLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLean
20.7 mi away
Route 66 Inn
Route 66 Inn
#4 of 8 in Shamrock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
20.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Shamrock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
20.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Shamrock Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shamrock North
20.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 8 in Shamrock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
20.7 mi away
Shamrock Country Inn
Shamrock Country Inn
#1 of 8 in Shamrock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Inn

Property: Cactus Inn
Address: 301 Pine St, McLean, TX 79057
Location: United States > Texas > McLean
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in McLean
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Cactus Hotel Mclean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing