We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in McKinney
Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We have stayed here several times and The Grand is a great escape whether you live in the area or not. The staff are very helpful with local info on restaurants and/or general questions.Manager of the hotel is accessible and very friendly. We always look forward to our stays here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msbeckser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    33
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
15
46
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

We just had our wedding in the Ballroom and all of our guests stayed at the Grand Hotel - everything was truly a DREAM come true!! From the unique accommodations to the perfect hometown location to the amazing customer service, we are forever thankful that we chose Ricks and the Grand Hotel for our big day! General Manager Jose was ridiculously helpful in the planning process, as we Shandra and all of the other staff! Thank you for everything you did to make us, as well as all our out-of-towners, as comfortable and happy as possible!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meghtwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

We were not overwhelmingly in love with the "style" of this hotel, however, I have never experienced such great service...anywhere. The manager, Jose Ruiz, was phenomenal. I have very low tolerance for fake hotel staff who schmooze you with talk of meeting your every need. I much prefer someone who sits behind the desk with a giant smile, waits for me to tell him my every need, then seems to get genuinely excited at the prospect of personally being able to figure it out for you. The nicest touch was that he stood up and walked to the street to show us directions to different places. I hate when hotels waste good paper with a map to a place two blocks away. Everything we asked for was delivered immediately. We needed a room change, and that too was done in less than ten minutes.
The food served by the associated Rick's Chophouse was AMAZING. Love their fluffy crabcakes!!! May make a trip back to adorable McKinney Texas just for that

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank jessmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

Went to the Grand for the romance package, which was wonderful and the hotel staff was wonderful. Included dinner at Rick's Steakhouse and the food was incredible. The only down side was we were booked on the same floor with the ballroom where there was a wedding. Didn't mind the wedding, it was the drunk guests running up and down the hall until 3am that ruined our 24th anniversary. Be sure and ask about parties booked in when you make the reservation and get on a different floor.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NoBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ships1969
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

My husband have stayed twice at the Grand Hotel and preparing to return for a third time. The staff is super accomodating and friendly. The building has an interesting history as well. Mckinney is very laid back. In the past year or so, they have added patio dining to many restaurants (though they don't allow pets unfortunately). If you like relaxing with a glass of wine, eating a variety of good food, and shopping- this is the destination! Back to the hotel-it is extremely clean. Rooms are on the smallish side-as you would expect in a historic building, wardrobes for closets. I would request a room on a higher floor if you are here over the weekend as the live music in the bar could disturb your sleep-if you go to bed early. The Chop House restaurant is to die for!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irisheyes0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

We've stayed at The Grand Hotel twice now. The first time was in August 2009 for my husband's 50th birthday. We enjoyed it so much, we just went back (Jan 2010) to stay two nights for our 20th Anniversary. The hotel is so clean and located right on the Historic McKinney Square with several terrific restaurants and shops. The General Manager, Jose Ruiz, is a terrific guy and made every effort to ensure our stay was pleasant. We took advantage of the Romance Package during both stays and had dinner at Rick's Chophouse which is attached to the hotel. Our champagne and strawberries were a nice added touch. The hotel is small and personal but the rooms are elegant and clean. We have been in three different rooms during our stays and all were spacious and the bathrooms quite large. The showers are hot and the beds are extremely comfortable. I'm sure that we'll be back for another getaway soon. Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshall113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2009

My daughter and I stayed here one month ago, we are going back next weekend. It is superb. Rooms are gorgeous and the food at the Chophouse was incredible. We travel
quite a bit, not as much since she is now in college, but we loved it.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McKinney hotels
2.8 mi away
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
#2 of 16 in McKinney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McKinney
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney - Fairview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS McKinney Inn & Suites
6.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McKinney
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites McKinney
Comfort Suites McKinney
#6 of 16 in McKinney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 114 W Louisiana St, McKinney, TX 75069-4414
Location: United States > Texas > McKinney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in McKinney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending old-world charm with an emphasis on style, the Grand Hotel is regarded as one of the best luxury hotels in Texas. Built in 1880, this landmark building, which originally housed the Heard Opera House and Heard Mercantile store, is located on the historic downtown square surrounded by shops and restaurants. Each individually-designed room features granite bathrooms and rich decor, pillow-top mattresses, and luxurious Italian Frette robes and linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing