We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful choice”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“wonderful choice”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We are getting married on a few days and have arranged for our guests to stay at the Grand Hotel. Being as we have guests coming in from out of the country things are a little more complicated than expected. Jose the manager has been extremely helpful, he goes above and beyond to make sure everything is taken care of. The Grand Hotel has made the wedding planning experience much easier. We are so thankful for the staff and their hospitality, not to mention this hotel is beautiful and right in the middle of everything downtown. This hotel will not disappoint and the staff are top notch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    34
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
48
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic location in downtown McKinney. We loved the historic square and all the shops. Unfortunately, the hotel was not as "grand" as we had expected. Our room was large and spacious, and we loved the high ceiling with old ceiling tiles. The bathroom had a very musty/mildew smell, and the shower area was very small. While using a hand towel, the towel rack fell off the wall. A large armoire is situated across from the sleigh bed, but the television contained inside is quite small in comparison. Even cheaper hotels have larger televisions. The leather chair in the corner of the room was very dirty and soiled. The window few from the second floor is less than desirable as it looks out on rooftops, dumpsters, and restaurant storage. Perhaps our greatest disappointment with our stay was how noisy our room was from evening to morning. A very loud band plays downstairs until 11 and the bar is open until midnight. The noise is not muffled at all by the paper thin walls. Just as the bar noise died down, some people clearly moved in to the room next door to us. We could hear every inappropriate noise through the thin wall between us. Once they fell asleep, we were kept wide awake by their snoring. We were tempted to leave the hotel around 2 am to go elsewhere to escape the distracting noises, but did not want to wake others by moving our things out of the room. I understand hotels can be noisy, but one would expect a bit more insulation between rooms/floors to help muffle noise to allow guests to rest comfortably. Despite the great location and old world charm which we loved, we would not recommend this hotel to others due to our less than "grand" experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CzechRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I read a lot of reviews and compared prices around McKinney before booking this place for one night as we drove through town as we knew nothing about the area. It was well priced as it was a Thursday evening.. $125 for a very beautiful room, that is damn hard to find these days! This place is beautiful inside and out and is in walking distance of everything downtown. (But you better get there before 10pm if you want to eat as every kitchen except for a pub around the corner will already be closed.) I did not enjoy interacting with the desk employees, but the manager we dealt with the next morning was excellent.

In regards to room: awesome size and convenient set up, beautiful and grand antique style furniture. However, I do wish the bed only looked antique, instead of feeling like the rock hard bed my grandparents have in their house from the 1940s.

The bathroom was pretty but inconvenient. The towels are literally the roughest textured linens I have experienced. In the shower there is only one tiny soap bar where you can place toiletries so you have to set everything on the floor. I took a shower and then went back to get my stuff and as I picked up my lotion I noticed an unfamiliar small brown thing on my hand. Then as I picked up the rest of the shampoo, conditioner & etc, I noticed there were more.. And they were moving. *** There were tiny brown worms covering the far bottom corner of the shower but you would never actually notice unless you had to go into that corner as the tile and grout are very dark. My fiancé immediately called management and they had a whole team up to sanitize the bathroom and gave us access to another room across the hall to finish getting ready before checking out. They then contacted Expedia and had our charges reversed before we could even make the request.

I was very happy with their customer service here. The way they handled the shower situation was appreciated and the staff was very genuine and attentive. I do think this is a clean hotel and I just had bad luck that day (let's hope!) so I was hesitant to even mention it in the review and would still recommend it. However, I would only recommend it to my young, healthy, trendy hipster friends, as the lack of conveniences inside and out seem to imply that this is a place for someone that doesn't plan to spend much time in the room, but instead more time downtown. My 40 year old fiancé hated it. Lol

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is small but quaint nestled in downtown McKinney. I had a wonderful experience. Each room has a unique, historic design. I felt like a queen staying there. Ricks Chophouse is downstairs so please eat there. You must see the ballroom on the 3 rd floor and the bars downstairs. The staff is friendly. This is the perfect place for a romantic getaway, family reunion, wedding party, graduation party, any party. I had my family stay here and they loved it. I had the best sleep in years. It's also a perfect place if you want to just spoil yourself. Don't forget to read about its history while you are there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascepti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Double Oak, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stay on a week night, as prices goes up significantly on Friday and Saturday. We had an outside room with a window, but the view was various rooftops. The bed and pillows were terribly hard. The couple we were traveling with had a soft bed and pillows. Room 403, is very small, has a one-way walking path. Watch out for the low foot board. We hit our knees the first time walking around the bed. In the bathroom very little room for a woman to store products. Lighting in the bathroom is not for women applying makeup. Also you have to lean over sink to look closely in the mirror. Managment needs to install a swing out mirror on the side wall. Location is ideal if your spending a night after exploring the square or eating at Ricks.

Food at Ricks was delicious. Very hard to decide what to order, as so many delicious, appealing entrees.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
2,128 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,259 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed here on a recent business trip to McKinney, TX. This hotel is located right downtown McKinney, TX on the square so a convenient location for walking to restaurant and small shops. It is a very good value. The hotel has character with a homey feeling. My only complaint about the room I stayed in is that it was very dimly lit even with all the lights on. The cocktail lounge was comfortable as well and staff very friendly. The hotel has a restaurant that seemed to be very popular with guests and locals, although I didn't eat there on this trip. A few steps away from the hotel is Snug on the Square which is a great little restaurant for breakfast or lunch with reasonable prices. Also suggest trying Gregory's Bistro for a meal, which is only about a block walk away and the food there is awesome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Double Oak, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Grand Hotel is top notch! Our family had a wedding there this weekend and I was so impressed with the entire staff! Very friendly and more than happy to help in any way. We have a special needs child/adult in our family and Jose the general manager went out of his way to make sure he got chocolate chip pancakes for breakfast! The rooms are beautiful and the beds are so comfortable. We didn't want to leave! Thank you everyone at the Grand Hotel we had a lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McKinney hotels
2.8 mi away
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
#2 of 16 in McKinney
144 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney - Fairview
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McKinney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Mckinney Inn & Suites
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mckinney - Craig Ranch
6.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McKinney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 114 W Louisiana St, McKinney, TX 75069-4414
Location: United States > Texas > McKinney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in McKinney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending old-world charm with an emphasis on style, the Grand Hotel is regarded as one of the best luxury hotels in Texas. Built in 1880, this landmark building, which originally housed the Heard Opera House and Heard Mercantile store, is located on the historic downtown square surrounded by shops and restaurants. Each individually-designed room features granite bathrooms and rich decor, pillow-top mattresses, and luxurious Italian Frette robes and linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing