We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The best little historic hotel in Texas.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in McKinney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best little historic hotel in Texas.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is small but quaint nestled in downtown McKinney. I had a wonderful experience. Each room has a unique, historic design. I felt like a queen staying there. Ricks Chophouse is downstairs so please eat there. You must see the ballroom on the 3 rd floor and the bars downstairs. The staff is friendly. This is the perfect place for a romantic getaway, family reunion, wedding party, graduation party, any party. I had my family stay here and they loved it. I had the best sleep in years. It's also a perfect place if you want to just spoil yourself. Don't forget to read about its history while you are there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascepti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    29
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
12
43
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Double Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stay on a week night, as prices goes up significantly on Friday and Saturday. We had an outside room with a window, but the view was various rooftops. The bed and pillows were terribly hard. The couple we were traveling with had a soft bed and pillows. Room 403, is very small, has a one-way walking path. Watch out for the low foot board. We hit our knees the first time walking around the bed. In the bathroom very little room for a woman to store products. Lighting in the bathroom is not for women applying makeup. Also you have to lean over sink to look closely in the mirror. Managment needs to install a swing out mirror on the side wall. Location is ideal if your spending a night after exploring the square or eating at Ricks.

Food at Ricks was delicious. Very hard to decide what to order, as so many delicious, appealing entrees.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
1,947 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed here on a recent business trip to McKinney, TX. This hotel is located right downtown McKinney, TX on the square so a convenient location for walking to restaurant and small shops. It is a very good value. The hotel has character with a homey feeling. My only complaint about the room I stayed in is that it was very dimly lit even with all the lights on. The cocktail lounge was comfortable as well and staff very friendly. The hotel has a restaurant that seemed to be very popular with guests and locals, although I didn't eat there on this trip. A few steps away from the hotel is Snug on the Square which is a great little restaurant for breakfast or lunch with reasonable prices. Also suggest trying Gregory's Bistro for a meal, which is only about a block walk away and the food there is awesome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Double Oak, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Grand Hotel is top notch! Our family had a wedding there this weekend and I was so impressed with the entire staff! Very friendly and more than happy to help in any way. We have a special needs child/adult in our family and Jose the general manager went out of his way to make sure he got chocolate chip pancakes for breakfast! The rooms are beautiful and the beds are so comfortable. We didn't want to leave! Thank you everyone at the Grand Hotel we had a lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San antonio tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

One of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in. Can not say enough about how tastefully it is decorated! We were on 4th fl, everything was brand new, including carpet. We stayed on valentines day 2014. Staff was very professional. Would recommend for couples get away. I would not take kiddos, personally. Do not have parking as it is old hotel downtown Mckinny(very EZ to get to). Get there early to get street parking. Will definitely go back !!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We recently stayed at The Grand Hotel for a business trip and the day after we checked out, I realized that I had left a garment in the bathroom closet. I immediately called and the manager on duty (late night) was able to locate it in their lost and found. I called the next day to make arrangements on shipping and the manager I spoke to said that they would ship it to me and not to worry about it. I really thought that it was a nice gesture, rarely do you see folks willing to pick up the cost of something that was someone else's mistake!

Thank you to The Grand Hotel! We enjoyed our short stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over night for a birthday event. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Had a nice room overlooking the downtown square in McKinney. The room was well appointed and comfortable. We had 2 issues. The bed took up a lot of room in the space which only allowed for one chair to sit on. Also the room was poorly lit and seemed quite dark during the day. Other than those issues, we enjoyed our stay and am looking forward to our next visit. Had a great meal at Rick's to go with the stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BobQuortrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McKinney hotels
2.8 mi away
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
#1 of 16 in McKinney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney - Fairview
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McKinney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS McKinney Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites McKinney
Comfort Suites McKinney
#6 of 16 in McKinney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McKinney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 114 W Louisiana St, McKinney, TX 75069-4414
Location: United States > Texas > McKinney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in McKinney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending old-world charm with an emphasis on style, the Grand Hotel is regarded as one of the best luxury hotels in Texas. Built in 1880, this landmark building, which originally housed the Heard Opera House and Heard Mercantile store, is located on the historic downtown square surrounded by shops and restaurants. Each individually-designed room features granite bathrooms and rich decor, pillow-top mattresses, and luxurious Italian Frette robes and linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing