We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for Royalty!”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

well, I felt like I was royalty from the moment of arrival to the time I reluctantly left. they were quite accomodating and offered a variety of services, esp for a smaller hotel. we were in a group staying here and each room was unique and well appointed. this is an ideal honeymoon spot because there are some nice little places to eat and shop. the quality of the furniture and appointments throughout are luxuriating.

Room Tip: lovely well appointed rooms in a distinctive town that is ranked #2 best place to live in America by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel4Bizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 134 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

No designated hotel parking. We had to park a block away and walk back and forth from our car to the hotel (in the rain I might ad). Small room. No ice machine on our floor. The bed however was AWESOME!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkc1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this beautiful hotel 5 times this summer. Each time, we have gotten a great room with no window, which was nice to beat the heat! The furnishings are beautiful and every detail is cared for. Some larger hotels could learn a few things from these smaller hotels. The staff are very hospitable and have been on a first name basis with us since our second visit. We always order room service from Rick's Chophouse that is attached to the hotel. Believe me when I say the food is awesome! They let you order as late as 8:30 pm, if you prefer a late dinner. The beds are comfy, sheets are egyptian cotton, the showers are great, love the dark colors and the New Orleans feel. The manager Jose Ruiz is very accommodating. We will always stay here instead of going into Dallas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old section of the hotel, plus you get the thermostat control for your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurer2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We just recently spent three nights at the Grand Hotel and we LOVED it! It's such a perfect setting for this hotel. The staff was wonderful, we even ran into Debbi Matzke at a local coffee shop and she took time on her day off to say hi and chat with us. She is a great asset to your business! We loved the décor and atmosphere of the whole hotel. It was a great fusion of modern day accommodations with historical pride. It was within walking distance to great food, drinks, coffee and cute shops! I would recommend it to anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I love the Grand Hotel. I work in hotel management and I must say that they have something truly specail at the Grand. Keep it up and we will be back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetogetawayAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Loved the The Grand Hotel in McKinney! It is indeed a grand hotel. Perfect location in downtown McKinney. We only stayed one night while visiting our daughter, but i plan to stay again on our next trip to town. Beautifully restored property. Very comfortable king sleigh bed, with fantastic bedding. Free internet, and great AC! Just Beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianag99217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I grew up in McKinney, Texas and spent much time in downtown McKinney as a child. I recently went back to visit family and friends. I decided to spend the night at the Grand Hotel downtown for some relaxation. The staff, hotel, food, room, accomodations and friendly service were outstanding and well worth a trip back. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone needing to be pampered! A very happy customer you all made of me. Thank you kindly for such gracious hospitality. Iva in Canton, Georgia.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the old courthouse downtown is magnificant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 223Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McKinney hotels
2.8 mi away
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
#2 of 16 in McKinney
157 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McKinney
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Mckinney Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McKinney
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites McKinney - Fairview
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mckinney - Craig Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 114 W Louisiana St, McKinney, TX 75069-4414
Location: United States > Texas > McKinney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in McKinney
Price Range: $144 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending old-world charm with an emphasis on style, the Grand Hotel is regarded as one of the best luxury hotels in Texas. Built in 1880, this landmark building, which originally housed the Heard Opera House and Heard Mercantile store, is located on the historic downtown square surrounded by shops and restaurants. Each individually-designed room features granite bathrooms and rich decor, pillow-top mattresses, and luxurious Italian Frette robes and linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing