We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a favorite for comfort food!”
Review of Spoons

Spoons
Ranked #7 of 291 Restaurants in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
McKinney, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a favorite for comfort food!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stopped in here on a gorgeous fall afternoon in McKinney. Wanted some good old comfort food. My boyfriend had a cheeseburger and potato salad and I had my usual go-to lunch - a chicken caesar wrap with potato chips. (I know, not the typical comfort food to most people, but it is to ME!) Added a side of their yummy fresh green beans cooked with bacon and onion. We were too stuff for dessert this time, but the chocolate creme pie here is divine. Also great on the menu - the BBQ brisket sandwich, King Ranch chicken casserole... and pretty much anything. Breakfast is served anytime - the migas are one of their top breakfast/brunch items. Never a bad meal here and just the coolest atmosphere. Great date lunch spot, and I also like going here with my laptop and spending an hour or two writing in the garage around back. Very homey and a GREAT cup of gourmet coffee! (Try the Fuel Injection coffee if you like dark chocolate & a shot of mandarin orange flavoring - so delicious!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McKinneyBoyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    166
    63
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great service, awful awful food”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have been going to Spoons since before we moved here in December and have watched the quality go down the toilet. The servers are all so nice and always are prompt and sweet and efficient. The food has just gotten bad. The bacon is like small strips of thin lace, they use cheap bread for toast, and they've switched out their delicious potatoes for cheap low-quality bagged ones. We used to love this place, but it seems as if the owner just flat doesn't care about the quality of the slop that comes out of the kitchen. We won't be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MapEater90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
947 reviews
554 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Great food, specializing in breakfast”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The food is amazing and service is awesome. Everything I had there was wonderful. The omelet was fluffy and perfectly made.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DDay1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Tasty meal, slightly pricey”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have eaten at Spoons more than a few times and have always had a good meal. They are known for their sweet potato fries and a variety of mouth-watering desserts. Prices are reasonable but just a tad high. You can either eat inside or out on their patio overlooking the courthouse and the town square. The environment is very pleasant. Sometimes they even have live musical entertainment. Service has always been good. Good food and good service means I'll be back from time to time, but I'd be back more often if the prices were just a little lower.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imtom55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Spoons has some of the best home-cooking. The King ranch chicken is awesome and the meatloaf is to die for. also dont forget to try a strawberry cupcake before you leave. (they have them in mini's for the people trying to be good.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KWest04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoons also viewed

 

Been to Spoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing