We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, specializing in breakfast”
Review of Spoons

Spoons
Ranked #7 of 289 Restaurants in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
926 reviews
543 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Great food, specializing in breakfast”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The food is amazing and service is awesome. Everything I had there was wonderful. The omelet was fluffy and perfectly made.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DDay1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    163
    63
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
234 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Tasty meal, slightly pricey”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have eaten at Spoons more than a few times and have always had a good meal. They are known for their sweet potato fries and a variety of mouth-watering desserts. Prices are reasonable but just a tad high. You can either eat inside or out on their patio overlooking the courthouse and the town square. The environment is very pleasant. Sometimes they even have live musical entertainment. Service has always been good. Good food and good service means I'll be back from time to time, but I'd be back more often if the prices were just a little lower.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imtom55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Spoons has some of the best home-cooking. The King ranch chicken is awesome and the meatloaf is to die for. also dont forget to try a strawberry cupcake before you leave. (they have them in mini's for the people trying to be good.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KWest04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wish I could have tasted the food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Recently moving to the area, I had a friend in town and we decided to check out the square in McKinney. With so many lunch options, we decided on spoons. The sign out front said to go around to the side door (apparently the "garage") for seating. A worker at the Garage entrance sent us back around to the front to be seated. Passing the sign still on display requesting patrons to proceed to the Garage door for seating, we requested a table from the histess in the main dining area. The hostess once again directed is to the Garage door. Giving up, we ended up down the street at another restaurant where seating wasn't a problem and lunch was delicious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ibgmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch and it was quite busy. We were not greeted by the host, but instead were half heartedly apologized to and asked to move to the back street part of the restaurant called the "garage" since there were no more seats. The waitress was not friendly and took 3 out of 4 of our orders and was about to walk away before taking the 4th. one of us ordered a half sandwhich and was brought a whole one instead. food was decent, just bad service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crkobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoons also viewed

 

Been to Spoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing