We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A traditional place in downtown Mckinney”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spoons

Spoons
Ranked #7 of 287 Restaurants in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Estado de Mexico, Mexico
Level Contributor
279 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A traditional place in downtown Mckinney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Dont expect luxery or elegance, its just a simple place, but with very good food. The service is splendid and its location couldnt be better.
To have breakfast there is very pleasant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank McMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    154
    62
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast/brunch stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is without question our favourite place to drop in by for breakfast/brunch when we visit McKinney. Breakfast offered is always good and we always find the staff very friendly. Always willing to stop for a chat to find out what brings you to town.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ClovaTheWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
248 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Priced too high for quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I really WANT to enjoy Spoons the way I did when they were in their smaller location. But, the food quality and portions are down and the prices are up. Service for sit down is sporadic. I enjoy the "garage" atmosphere now if I go... (BUT..the cupcakes are amazing!)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NinaTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, TX
Level Contributor
126 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great local dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Went to Spoons for lunch with out of town guest. Great local place for lunch. Best waiter (Sparky) Nice guy, lots of fun, makes you feel at home. Kids around a little but knows when to stop. Food was good. Nice sandwiches. Great potato salad. Worth a try. Rustic look in an old building.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite breakfast spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Even on Sunday mornings when it is busy, you don't have to wait too long for a seat. The service is great and the food excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoons also viewed

 

Been to Spoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing