We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I would stay elsewhere!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - McKinney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - McKinney
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in McKinney
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I would stay elsewhere!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I reserved a non smoking room. It smelled of smoke badly. The room was dirty, and the deadbold was broken. Never again for us. The man in the room next to us was smoking and had his door open and was sitting in the doorway. The place just looks rum down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Retired2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Wi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the decor. We had just come from the McKinney Inn down the street and had gotten a refund because the room they offered us was
filthy and stunk. I was hoping the Americas Best Value Inn would be better and it was. We will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Room service and restaurant not available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lbwiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

King room was clean and comfortable. The bed was offset to the double-lights on the wall, which were positioned for a two-queen room, not a king, so the lighting was odd. But the room was clean, bedding was fresh. The window AC/heater was unusually quiet for a hotel room unit. On the downside: Only one bath towel and it was pretty flimsy, and the fan in the commode/shower room was very noisy like it was about to go out. Fridge was a good size for a hotel room but microwave was tiny. There was no safety latch on the door - just a deadbolt. I consider that a big safety drawback. The tiny office was closed when we checked in late, so I had to stand outside in chill air while being checked in at a service window facing the driveway. Check-in took a long time, and the clerk was not very proficient in English pronunciation and was hard to understand, so I am downgrading the service to poor. Overall, average rating, especially considering the price. I've stayed in worse budget hotels. The management seems to care about the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pgb0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles,LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

When they say value inn they aren't kidding .This hotel was by far the worst hotel that I have ever stayed at. When I entered the bathroom a long blond hair caught my attention . I literally had to get down and scrub the bathtub. When I came out to turn the air off I saw a roach come out of the cover. I went over to my bed to lie down and it came to my attention that there was some sort of brown gunk on my pillow. I turned to see if there was anything else with the suite ,and there was no closet. The closest thing to it was a small rack on the wall. I will never stay at another Best Value Inn and Suites again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank pinkie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI-McKINNEY, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - McKinney, responded to this review, December 13, 2009
I am truly sorry you had a bad experience at our hotel in the past. We hold ourselves to the highest standards in terms of cleanliness and great customer service. We are disappointed that we did not achieve this during your stay. I must say though, we check our rooms daily now to make sure all rooms are thoroughly clean. We also have remodeled the rooms and I hope you and future guests will come and see the great changes.

Thank You,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McKinney hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites McKinney
Comfort Suites McKinney
#5 of 16 in McKinney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS McKinney Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McKinney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Value Place Dallas/ Ft. Worth, Texas (McKinney)
3.8 mi away
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
Sheraton McKinney Hotel
#2 of 16 in McKinney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 16 in McKinney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - McKinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - McKinney

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - McKinney
Address: 205 W University Dr, McKinney, TX 75069-1858
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > McKinney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in McKinney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - McKinney 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This two story property is managed by a experienced staff that provides its guests with clean rooms at a great value. We are located on highway 380, just 1 mile east of highway 75. While we do not have a restaurant on site, there are many nearby within walking distance or short driving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - McKinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing