We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Beat It!”
Review of Bill Smith's Cafe

Bill Smith's Cafe
Ranked #44 of 291 Restaurants in McKinney
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't Beat It!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

we go to Bill Smith's on the weekend mostly as a family as we are running errands or after ball games. This is a wonderful place! Not pretentious, just down home southern cooking. They've been open since '56 and you can still see Bill in the ketchen cooking breakfast just for you. The last time we went was the best so far. Our server, Jessica, paid particular attention to our 4 yr old daughter making sure her Mickey Mouse pancake had a whipped cream bow making it Minnie. She also wrote our daughter's name on her kid cup with a little hart on it. Two things she didn't have to do, but put that trip over the top for us. No wonder this place it ranked as one of the best breakfast places in DFW! We'll be back again, and we'll ask for Jessica's section!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    25
    13
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The last two times we've been to Bill Smith's I've been disappointed. My biscuits were skimpy and the gravy could pass for wall paper paste. Since their buscuits and gravy are the only thing on their breakfast menu that I like, it's very sad.

My spouse's Western omlete was fine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Metoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old School North Texas Diner Owns My World”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The food is flat out GREATNESS. I've had a ton of stuff from the menu and it's all killer but it's tough to beat the Papa's Smith Special (Eggs, Pancakes, choice of Bacon, Sausage, Ham) w/ a tack on side of Biscuits & Gravy. GOOD LORD...I'm full just thinking about it all.

The service has always been good, everyone there is friendly and attentive.

The ambiance of the place is old school for sure. Tons of old photos and metal signs cover the walls (the wooden indian in the corner is a nice touch too).

If you're looking for a completely unpretentious place to get a killer breakfast, check out Bill Smith's Cafe. If you want a coffee with whipped cream while you douche about with your blue tooth crammed in yer ear, don't even bother.

P.S. Bring cash. No credit cards taken.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank revaidgnarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good deal”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The price is right. Chicken fried steak, mashed potatoes/gravy, fried eggplant, and a salad for $5.95. Down home cookin, with a friendly staff, and quick service. Can't beat it. The chicken fried steak was tender, with a good crunchy crust. Here's another place I try and eat while visiting McKinney.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge TX
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This place has stood the test of time!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Every time I go here I just think it can't get any better than this!

From homemade breakfast to plate lunches oh and don't forget coconut cream pie. It's all good!!!!

Get there early or you won't get a seat without waiting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill Smith's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bill Smith's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing