We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit mostly for the entertainment ...”
Review of Hank's Texas Grill

Hank's Texas Grill
Ranked #203 of 288 Restaurants in McKinney
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Visit mostly for the entertainment ...”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Love the music events and the bar food is great! I need to pay more attention to the menu, but at this point it doesn't matter as they keep bringing events I want to see ... so am a tad biased on this review!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dqubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    10
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Leaves a Bad Taste in My Mouth”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We used to like their food even though the customers were loud and rowdy every time we went. Recently I called to place a take-out order and the person put me on hold for a long time. My call was disconnected and no one called back. Another time I called to find out if they were open. They don't return calls and don't have a recorded message giving their hours. They are in litigation with the City over code violations and they even tried to get a restraining order to keep police from harassing them. I don't want to be near a place where customers are unruly and police are not welcome.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sincerelyHis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good times and music”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you are hungry I would not reccomend this place. I ordered a BLT with avacado the bacon was not fresh and very hard as if it had been cooked a while and left to sit out. The avacados were already turning brown and on their way to being mushy. Yuk!!! However the beer is cold, people are friendly and the music is good, so eat before you go and drink lots. The music is 'red dirt" and bands are good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockportgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
“Best BBQ? NOT”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The sliced and chopped beef BBQ was flavorless. Tasted like it had been boiled instead of smoked! What a dissapointment and embarrasment to have this place serve BBQ in Texas!
Save your money and appetite - DO NOT go to this place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarthaC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice venue”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The food is good and the music is too. Enjoyed the place.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Texas Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hank's Texas Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing