We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heard Natural Science Museum & Wildlife Sanctuary
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature Reserve, garden, hiking trails and nature center provides an escape to nature.
Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Location: Just outside the city limits. It is close enough to be reached without an out of the way drive.

Parking: Paved. There are also a few trees that lean over some parking places so you can park in the shade on hot days. Parking is free.

Admission: There is a cost. It is used to pay to maintain the facilities/park.

Facilities: Lovely nature museum. The focus is not "zoo" animals or "exotics" in the usual sense. The focus is on wildlife naturally occurring in the north DFW area. They are concerned with restoring the natural prairie, swamp lands and forested areas as they were before development. They are actively restoring a prairie and marsh lands. They have built easily accessible paths throughout (with many built of wide wood planks so easily navigated by stroller or wheelchair) and even over/through the marsh so you can walk "through" the water and look down into it. There are named/marked paths that have been mapped out with distance/length of path and appx. how long it will take to complete the path. These paths do intersect so you can end up seeing the entire park no matter which direction you go. They do have markers along the path as well to assist in navigation.

Take: Water, sunscreen and snacks

Time Needed: As short as you want but to truly experience the entire park takes at least an afternoon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charis16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    66
    19
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Saturday Outing”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I got rained out, so had to rush through some of the trails, but overall it was a good experience. Would recommend going when the butterflies are there and plants are in bloom. Took a few great photos of nature. I loved seeing the animals the most!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jpka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to get out doors and let kids explore”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I take my grandsons there. They love the dinosaurs. This is a great place to go do some hiking and see some animals, and just get out side.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rummeljac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Place for Kids and Adults!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our first visit and we throughly enjoyed this place! It is hard to believe this beautiful sanctuary is just outside city limits. Take your camera, lunch and lots of bottled water because there are so many walking / hikinig trails! Indoor museum, one on one specialty talks with staff and live animals, picnic areas, small animal exhibit - so much for a person to enjoy. Even if you just want a nice walk in nature. There is a cost involved (not too pricey) and this supports the upkeep of this facility. It is a treasure I wish I would have found long ago - we will be back. Would love to have taken a class trip here !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BRcircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, Texas
Level Contributor
250 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit - look for one of their events”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Heard is in a pretty setting that offers guided nature walks regularly and other activities. I highly recommend the Owl Prowl. This cost about $20, but we got to see several live raptors and a presentation, and then afterwards we went on a nice night hike around the Sanctuary looking for owls.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhotoTripper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heard Natural Science Museum & Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Heard Natural Science Museum & Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing