We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Heard Natural Science Museum & Wildlife Sanctuary
Ranked #2 of 37 things to do in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature Reserve, garden, hiking trails and nature center provides an escape to nature.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Good walking trails and animal exhibits are much better than you would expect from a small town museum. Great for kids up to about 12

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank GregDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    63
    19
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Little pocket of nature in Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I love this museum. The inside is small, but if you have kids, this is the place to be. The trails are great and easy for little ones. The summer classes are invaluable. Plus, they have a research center that is great for maintaining the environment for future generations to enjoy. This was my first science and nature museum experience as a kid 30 years ago, and our daughter will be enrolled in their classes as well.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank drdave75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the big city...Thank goodness!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

A wonderful place for kiddos to just roam around and get in touch with nature. The indoor exhibit is interesting for all ages. We took a picnic and set up a little birthday party at one of the picnic tables. The kids just loved being outdoors. Cute gift shop too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank beachbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nothing stands out, but still nice to have around”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Great place to take my little kids on a nature walk. But they need to refresh their exhibits. It is always the same stuff.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Miosoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Stay away if you don't enjoy being around kids!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We happened to go on a day when there were bus loads of kids from different schools in the area. Don't get me wrong, I love kids, but geez can they make a racket! Outside on the trails was fine but inside the building / museum part was off-the-charts loud! The tour guides for the exhibits are very knowledgeable and seemed to enjoy their job.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ned4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heard Natural Science Museum & Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Heard Natural Science Museum & Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing