We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum and Trails”

Heard Natural Science Museum & Wildlife Sanctuary
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature Reserve, garden, hiking trails and nature center provides an escape to nature.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
2,371 reviews
474 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 979 helpful votes
“Museum and Trails”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The cities and towns are slowly taking up all the previously natural areas. This little museum and trails still survives although surrounded by lots of development. It is definitely worth your time and effort to take a trip to see this attraction which has been around for many years. Lots of trails for the kids to run up and down and they will also like the wildlife exhibits in the museum.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    67
    19
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“fun place to take your family.away from ituch and iphone and back to the nature”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Nice trails, unique wild animals and cool butterfly ceneter. I wish there was more animals and better signs for the trail and more info on kayaking.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaExpeditions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great nature spot in North Texas”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I am such a huge fan of the Heard that I became a member last summer. I will often drop by in the morning with my kids to get a peaceful hike in. I took family from out of town a few months ago and it was wonderful! We had a nice tour (didn't know they did that) from a very knowledgeable gentleman. If you go after 10:00 you should ask to see if they have any tour guides - well worth the time.

The wetlands area is spectacular! Eagle scouts built a very nice boardwalk and if you go when it is actually wet, you can see all kinds of birds and reptiles. My advice is to get there when it opens so that you are the first out - crowds tend to scare the wildlife away.

The museum is very nice and has had some excellent exhibits, most recently one on bats. This is a great place that has everything from easy hikes to a dinosaur "dig". I highly recommend it!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank rockettmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little gem in northern Texas”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We found ourselves in the area unexpectedly with half a day to spare before catching the next plane. Found this place by chance & went there not knowing what to expect. With temperature of 40c/104f August is obviously not the best time of year, but we still enjoyed the woodland walks (bottle of water essential), the bird watching (wished we'd had our binoculars). Would go back and spend more time for a totally different Texas experience.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank VivB081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It would have been great by myself or other adults.”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I would have loved to have gone on the miles of trails and just hiked. My three kids (8, 6, and 4) weren't having it, though. The museum is quite small, and admission is in the "Fort Worth Zoo" range, so that is disappointing. The outdoor exhibit was cool, but half the animals were being relocated. The Butterfly tent was neat, but with the kids, they were more interested in trying to get one to land on their finger than they were about the different kinds of butterflies. This would have been a 4 or 5 rating if the admission hadn't been as high. No, it wasn't forbidding (like Dallas World Aquarium), but the $9/adult $6/child fare is certainly more than it should be.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heard Natural Science Museum & Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Heard Natural Science Museum & Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing