We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High quality burgers, a bit noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Square Burger

Square Burger
Ranked #4 of 284 Restaurants in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is located in the quaint downtown area of Mckinney TX. The burgers aren't square but they are made from fresh local ingredients (including meat = butcher is approx 2 blocks away...and the meat is free of hormones/etc). These are not fast food burgers - the quality and taste found here cannot be compared. And don't forget to sample the sweet potatoe fries too. This is definitely worth the drive from Dallas...and is our very favorite burger place in the USA.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High quality burgers, a bit noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a great place to meet up with friends and enjoy a bar-like experience, but with better lighting and food. The selection of beers is extensive. The high society burger is my absolute favorite burger I've ever had. Warning: this place is always packed and very loud. Good luck having an intimate conversation without straining your ears.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    110
    34
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great McKinney hamburger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I have enjoyed both lunch and dinner at Square Burger and were not disappointed in quality of their burgers. The rib appetizer is an excellent choice and did not disappoint. Square Burger also offers a wide selection of draft beers. I will return to enjoy a lunch with friends in the near future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ldno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprising Burger Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My favorite is the lamb burger. All the offerings in this eatery are good. They specialize in locally grown produce and meats. It is child friendly, at peak times there is a wait which is easily passed strolling the Old Town square until they phone your cell. We dine here at least once monthly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BellBottomBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Burgers are round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great burger any way you want it and they have some excellent suggestions on the menu as well. Oversized onion rings make for a great side, as does the fried pickle spear that comes with the burger. Draft beer selection is good and they will let you sample before you order.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quietly outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Our first visit to this " unmarked" and non advertised restaurant was a very surprisingly good one. We both enjoyed the hamburgers we selected and were able to split the fries ,which were absolutely delicious.
If we return to McKinney soon this restaurant will be the one we dine in. Although they had a huge selection of beer on tap I did not indulge in this refreshment. Enjoy the wonderful cuisine and the selection of beers and wines offered. Just keep it quiet- it is to good - and we don' t want the crowds to know!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jshepp9966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square Burger also viewed

 

Been to Square Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing