We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a steak chain, but a very good one”
Review of Texas Roadhouse

Texas Roadhouse
Ranked #14 of 291 Restaurants in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Texas Roadhouse is a steak restaurant providing legendary food with legendary service. Texas Roadhouse specializes in hand-cut steaks, fresh-baked bread, fall-off-the-bone-ribs, and made-from-scratch sides. We also serve ice cold beer and legendary margaritas. Treat your family and friends to a night at Texas Roadhouse.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It's a steak chain, but a very good one”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

NOTE: Texas Roadhouse is a Tennessee chain. Funny!

There is a reason lines are out the door. Don't come here with out using the call ahead option. You'll still wait, but it will be far shorter than arriving without your name already on the list. Weekdays or weekends, this place is always packed.

No, you don't go here for romantic ambiance, but for good steaks at a good price it's hard to beat. This place is loud and crowded, but service is always excellent (fast and efficient, but not exactly personal) and the food is always top notch.

No, this isn't your upscale steakhouse experience. But for the dollars spent, it's hard to beat. Steaks and sides are consistently good-to-excellent. The bar is also good. It's fun to see the various steak cuts displayed at the entrance.

But what's best: Their hot rolls and butter are fabulous. We could fill up on this alone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 75Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    40
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
2,371 reviews
1,726 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 981 helpful votes
“Took The Whole Family For The Fourth of July Dinner”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had not been to this Texas Roadhouse in several months so as a family we headed there for dinner. We expected to see a long line at the front door, however since there were exactly six of us we got seated quickly in one of the remaining empty tables. Had a great waitress that took our drink order and meal order quickly and the delivery of the food was also quick. I ordered the prime rib, caesar salad and baked potato.The prime rib was better than some of those four and five star expensive restaurants that we have dined at recently. Others ordered the chicken fried chicken, chicken nuggets, vegetable plate, rib eye steak and a pork chop. Every single entree was perfect. We could not have ask for a better meal. The veggies and salads were all fresh and crisp.By the way, there are peanuts on the table and we ended up eating about half a bucket before we left. The food was all excellent. You may recall there is an early bird special, well that is available on Monday thru Thursday nights and the price is $8.99 with several entrees being available. This is a great price if you can dine on those early evenings.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos District, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

No visit to Texas should miss a trip to the Texas roadhouse. Rowdy, noisy and a sports bar atmosphere is not something we normally look for in a restaurant. However, the atmosphere works here and, if you are into steak or ribs, they are hard to beat. As usual, my rack of ribs was exceptional and, if you haven't been there before, the side of baked sweet potato smothered with marshmallow has got to be tried! Fantastic value for money is very good. On the night we were there it was extremely busy and the waiter put us on a table rather than a booth - we weren't happy with this and requested a move and they obliged immediately. The restaurant does sell T-Shirts but only if you ask and they are very reasonably priced at $10.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This loud, crowded place is one I really like. The food is really good. I have never gotten a bad steak. I also admit that I love their home baked bread! This is not a romantic ambiance but we like it well enough to eat there once a month. No reservations but call ahead seating. Write down your call-ahead seating number. Busy, very pretty hostesses sometimes misplace your "reservation"

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BellBottomBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to bring the family”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We eat here pretty frequently. They have a good variety on the menu. It is a great family atmosphere. The value for your dollar is great. I highly recommend going!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vbedus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Texas Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing