We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to go in McKinney for special occasions”
Review of Rick's Chophouse

Rick's Chophouse
Ranked #2 of 289 Restaurants in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
485 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The place to go in McKinney for special occasions”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is the finest dining in old town McKinney. It is perfect for any special occasion - Valentines' Day, anniversary, birthday, etc. The staff is among the most attentive and friendly you will ever find.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasVoyager_BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    90
    31
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Estado de Mexico, Mexico
Level Contributor
292 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A jewel in restaurants”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

When you visit downtown Mckinney, Texas, this is a must.
The quality of food, and service is excellent.
And to add even something else, prices are very low for what you get.
You cant afford not to visit this wonderful place!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Stay”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The food was so wonderful! It was varied and excellent. But the desserts! Oh, my stars, the bread pudding and the banana coconut cream pie were decadent! Our waiter was also a complete delight!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dawnthemagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, TX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Restaurant is good but bar is so so...”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We went here for our anniversary dinner. The square in McKinney is very quaint and we wanted to go someplace a little different. We arrived a few minutes early because we heard the bar has live entertainment on the weekends and thought we would order a drink and lounge in the bar area until our reservation time. We stood at the bar for about 5 minutes before one of the waitresses turned around and asked us what she could get us. We told her we would like to see a wine menu and she told us to have a seat on one of the many leather sofas in the bar area and she would bring us a drink menu. The bar had dark wood paneling and a beautiful antique tray ceiling. Our waitress brought the drink menu to us immediately and asked if we wanted to order dinner with our drinks. We told her we had reservations and wanted a drink only. The had a nice selection of single malt scotches but they only had 2 kind of prosecco/ champagne that you could order by the glass. She took our order and we waited for about 15 minutes before she finally brought our drinks. Apparently she forgot about us even though it wasn't excessively busy there. We got our drinks just in time to carry them with us into the restaurant. The band in the bar was not very good but I do believe they have a different one each weekend. The restaurant service was much better and our waitress was great. She was attentive and very knowledgeable. We had filet mignon and prime rib and both were cooked very well. The key lime pie was also very good. This place is not really kid friendly so I'd leave them at home. The restaurant is definitely worth another visit but I'd skip the bar/ lounge.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krdcunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Downtown surprise.”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We went to McKinney for our anniversary dinner. We were surprised with what we found. The shops and restaurants around the square were wonderful. We ate at Ricks Chophouse and it was excellent. We had the porterhouse for two with the chophouse house salad. I really liked the salad because it is diced up real fine, unlike any other salads I have had. The steak was huge. It was more than we could eat. It came with asparagus deep fried and sautéed mushrooms. Everything was delicious. We sat outdoors. It reminded us of some of the European restaurants we have eaten at. We had to remind ourselves that we were in McKinney TX.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OKTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's Chophouse also viewed

 

Been to Rick's Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing