We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service at Staybridge in McAllen TX”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites McAllen
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Service at Staybridge in McAllen TX”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks in a one bedroom that had 2 queen beds and a full bath. One of us thought the beds were too hard, one of us thought the beds were just right. The sofa in the TV area was bowed, yet more comfortable to sleep on. It was a sofa bed, but we did not pull the bed out. The maid service was great, they accommodated everything we asked for and always brought clean towels. There was a laundry room, free to guests, and so we were able to keep up with clean clothing. On Tues, Wed, Thurs the hotel offers happy hour for two hours and free beer, free wine and free food!! Very helpful as we did not want to go out to eat nor to cook. There was a small kitchenette in our room, but only one burner worked. [Two burner cook top] No stove, but a micro and a 3/4 fridge with nice freezer. HBO was out for a couple of days, but it was not a great problem. One shelf in the closet [which was a nice size, complete with laundry basket!] that had come loose, but we did not ask to have it fixed. And one haunted drawer in the bedroom dresser kept sliding open....weird. The Pantry is a minuscule store to buy odds and ends, but prices are higher than just running over to HEB to get supplies and food. Management was great. There was one day where fire alarms went off constantly as they were upgrading to code on those. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask to be put away from families. The last 3 days we were there the kids upstairs made a racket unti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieMcDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and we also want to thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites for your extenday stay visit in McAllen. We appreciate your feedback and detailed information on the various items you mentioned in your review of our hotel. With this information we can definitely learn from this experience and then also we can rectify the issues prior to the next guest's arrival. We want to apologize for the inconvenience of the bowed sofa, the loose shelf in th closet, HBO outage and only having one burner available during your stay. Immediately after reading your review we passed along this information to our Housekeeping, Maintenance and Front Desk personnel in order to continue improving our overall customer experience. Again, thank you for your honest feedback and we will address all of these items you mentioned prior to your next visit. We hope to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    28
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
13
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We visited the hotel for a last minite x-mas shopping frenzy and since we arrived we had funky surprise. First, at the lobby, the smell of the place was interesting to say the least. However, the real surprise was in the fourth floor. The smell was so bad that we had to cover our noses and literally run to our room. The good thing was that the room was nice, clean and confortable. The place is great and the service is really good, however, the stench at the hall took points from our experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Montes6212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are very sorry for your experience during your stay and we are investigating the matter further. We are not sure if it was our staff not attending to a sewage smell, if it was a room that was not properly cleaned or if it was just plain old trash sitting somehwere that we should have been ready to pick up. Whatever it was we can't tell you how sorry we are for that experience. We appreciate your recognition of the staff and the overall property. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent the night. when we got there we noticed that the shower curtain was missing. My wife called the front desk and within minutes they brought us one. The only complaint I have was that the people next to us were loud other than that everything was fine. Also I wish they're dining area was bigger. because we had to take our breakfast to our room. I guess if you want to sit and eat breakfast get there early.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank from_htown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It is unacceptable for you to check-in to a room that is not 100% guest ready. Our sincere apologies for not having your room ready upon arrival. November is a busy month for us and the breakfast area does stay pretty busy throughout the morning especially on the weekends. We do try and open up as much space in the area as we can including the meeting space when available. Thanks again for sending in your comments and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

After checking in we noticed that we were missing the shower curtain and called the front desk. Less than five minutes we had someone deliver the curtain with an apology . Then I called to ask for extra towels and again less then five minutes I got many extra towels. Prompt guest service! This hotel is also pet friendly so now I will know for next time. Breakfast was good but way to many people were trying to eat before they stopped serving so I suggest going early. Location is very close to mall!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We appreciate the positive comments even though we started your stay off on the wrong foot. We should never allow our guests to enter a room and not be 100% guest ready. Our sincere apologies for not having the shower curtain installed prior to your arrival. We are glad that we were able to make up for that error with quick and efficient service. Sorry about the breakfast rush, November is a busy month for us especially on the weekends. Again thank you very much for the feedback and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The wi-fi is updated so the user name doesn't have to be entered and the reasonable length password is easy. I stayed logged in and was able to use my work laptop and my tablet! The breakfast and social evening food is okay, but the biggest improvement is the friendly staff in the dining room replacing food and assisting guests! How nice. My room had several brand-new thick fluffy towels, crisp clean sheets, a very clean shower. The staff at the front desk checked me in and out super fast and gave me a room exactly where I had requested. One of the elevators was broken, but the stairwell is amazingly clean, light, wide, and smelled better than the regular hallways. Take the stairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review. Yes we just recently upgraded the wifi and addressed the evening social for our guests to enjoy both amenities with less hassle. We apologize for the elevator being out of service during your stay, but we were experiencing mechanical problems and had to wait for the replacement part to arrive. We do have a second elevator for guest use and as you mentioned the stairwells if you don't mind the exercise. We appreciate your feedback and thanks again for telling us about your stay. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I always stay at this hotel when in McAllen. It's clean, the rooms are excellent and the staff is very accomodating. The breakfasts are well made and tasty. The social evenings are great with good food and fresh baked cookies. How can you go wrong! I love it here and always look forward to my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tafferdills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We really do appreciate your feedback and happy to know that you enjoy our hotel and staff. It's great to hear our guests telling us that they enjoy what we do for them beacuse that's what we live for. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is great, specially if you're traveling with kids. The afternoon front desk staff is great, they helped us with everything. We have a baby and they provide us with a crib and all the extra stuff needed. The rooms are great and the location is the best, close to restaurants, the mall and airport. Avoid the 10th St on weekends its extremely crowded. You can use 2nd street to access the hotel. Breakfast is ok, I don´t like this kind of breakfasts but the carry the basics, eggs, ham & cheese, cereals, fruit and bread.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVILLASAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It's really great to hear that your family enjoyed their stay with us and also glad you took the time to send us your feedback. We try every day to make our guests feel as comfortable as we can, so that they get that home away from home feeling. I agree with your 10th street comment because you can definitely save some time using 2nd street to get to and from the hotel. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
3.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAllen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites McAllen

Property: Staybridge Suites McAllen
Address: 620 Wichita Ave, McAllen, TX 78503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites McAllen 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites McAllen Offers Guests the Utmost in Comfort and Convenience. Ideally situated near McAllen International Airport, Staybridge Suites McAllen is in close proximity to the University of Texas Pan-Am and the McAllen Medical Center. This upscale, extended stay hotel in McAllen offers comfortable accommodations near noteworthy area attractions and major businesses. Extended stay guests of our pet friendly McAllen accommodations enjoy visiting the Basilica of Our Lady de San Juan and Bentsen-Rio Grande Valley State Park. Exciting events at the Dodge Arena and the McAllen Convention Center are also less than five miles away. Business travelers appreciate our McAllen, TX lodgings near corporations and maquiladoras, such as Panasonic, Black and Decker and TRW. In order to best accommodate our guests' business needs, over 200 sq. ft. of meeting space and free high-speed Internet access is also available on-site. During your stay, spacious suites with full-service kitchens, an outdoor pool and hot tub, a 24-hour Business Center, a well-equipped Fitness Center and complimentary laundry services are provided for your convenience. In the morning, we encourage you to visit our free, daily breakfast buffet, and, in the evening, we invite you to join us for community-oriented Sundowner Receptions. As you plan your trip, be sure to explore our excellent McAllen hotel rates and make your reservations with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing