We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites McAllen
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in McAllen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent the night. when we got there we noticed that the shower curtain was missing. My wife called the front desk and within minutes they brought us one. The only complaint I have was that the people next to us were loud other than that everything was fine. Also I wish they're dining area was bigger. because we had to take our breakfast to our room. I guess if you want to sit and eat breakfast get there early.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank from_htown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It is unacceptable for you to check-in to a room that is not 100% guest ready. Our sincere apologies for not having your room ready upon arrival. November is a busy month for us and the breakfast area does stay pretty busy throughout the morning especially on the weekends. We do try and open up as much space in the area as we can including the meeting space when available. Thanks again for sending in your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 113 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

After checking in we noticed that we were missing the shower curtain and called the front desk. Less than five minutes we had someone deliver the curtain with an apology . Then I called to ask for extra towels and again less then five minutes I got many extra towels. Prompt guest service! This hotel is also pet friendly so now I will know for next time. Breakfast was good but way to many people were trying to eat before they stopped serving so I suggest going early. Location is very close to mall!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We appreciate the positive comments even though we started your stay off on the wrong foot. We should never allow our guests to enter a room and not be 100% guest ready. Our sincere apologies for not having the shower curtain installed prior to your arrival. We are glad that we were able to make up for that error with quick and efficient service. Sorry about the breakfast rush, November is a busy month for us especially on the weekends. Again thank you very much for the feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The wi-fi is updated so the user name doesn't have to be entered and the reasonable length password is easy. I stayed logged in and was able to use my work laptop and my tablet! The breakfast and social evening food is okay, but the biggest improvement is the friendly staff in the dining room replacing food and assisting guests! How nice. My room had several brand-new thick fluffy towels, crisp clean sheets, a very clean shower. The staff at the front desk checked me in and out super fast and gave me a room exactly where I had requested. One of the elevators was broken, but the stairwell is amazingly clean, light, wide, and smelled better than the regular hallways. Take the stairs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for submitting your review. Yes we just recently upgraded the wifi and addressed the evening social for our guests to enjoy both amenities with less hassle. We apologize for the elevator being out of service during your stay, but we were experiencing mechanical problems and had to wait for the replacement part to arrive. We do have a second elevator for guest use and as you mentioned the stairwells if you don't mind the exercise. We appreciate your feedback and thanks again for telling us about your stay. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I always stay at this hotel when in McAllen. It's clean, the rooms are excellent and the staff is very accomodating. The breakfasts are well made and tasty. The social evenings are great with good food and fresh baked cookies. How can you go wrong! I love it here and always look forward to my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tafferdills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We really do appreciate your feedback and happy to know that you enjoy our hotel and staff. It's great to hear our guests telling us that they enjoy what we do for them beacuse that's what we live for. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is great, specially if you're traveling with kids. The afternoon front desk staff is great, they helped us with everything. We have a baby and they provide us with a crib and all the extra stuff needed. The rooms are great and the location is the best, close to restaurants, the mall and airport. Avoid the 10th St on weekends its extremely crowded. You can use 2nd street to access the hotel. Breakfast is ok, I don´t like this kind of breakfasts but the carry the basics, eggs, ham & cheese, cereals, fruit and bread.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVILLASAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It's really great to hear that your family enjoyed their stay with us and also glad you took the time to send us your feedback. We try every day to make our guests feel as comfortable as we can, so that they get that home away from home feeling. I agree with your 10th street comment because you can definitely save some time using 2nd street to get to and from the hotel. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have been going to McAllen 1-2 times a month for the last year and we had never stayed or even heard about this hotel. We stayed there becuase the hotel we usually stay at was apparently full and then had changed their prices (raised their rate). So we started looking on TripAdvsior and read the reviews for this hotel and chose this one. The rate was a little higher than what we normally paid before, but we really had to be in McAllen and decided to take a chance. We made a very good decsion and we are very happy we found this hotel. The hotel is beautiful inside and out from the time we drove in to the parking lot until the second we entered our room. Small little kitchens, full size fridge and a large microwave. The room is bigger than other hotel rooms and definitely bigger than the hotel we were staying at before. The breakfast has great variety and well manged with the selection and variety. Two of the nights that we were there they had an evening happy hour and provided hamburgers and hot dogs (my husband enjoyed the cold beer, I myself enjoyed a glass of wine). The staff is great and they really make you feel at ease and they are always attentive to your needs. We found a new hotel and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. The entire staff was excited to hear that you enjoyed the amenities, hotel and staff. We really do try hard to make every guest feel at home and we are glad to hear that was the case for you. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The entire staff at this hotel is genuinely nice and really cares about the customer. They made us feel like we were staying with friends and we were only there for two days. Everyone smiles at you at the front desk or in the hallways. The room was exceptionally well mantained and cleaned. Most hotels do a good job of cleaning their rooms, but this room was cleaned and sanitized. We do not travel to that area often, but if we do return to the RGV we know where we will be staying. Oh and the breakfast is also very good and is better than your normal express breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_620, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McAllen, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We really appreciate the kind words and even happier to kow that your time with us even though it was short was a great experience. We look forward to your return and thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
0.3 mi away
Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAllen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites McAllen

Address: 620 Wichita Ave, McAllen, TX 78503-3031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in McAllen
Price Range: $87 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites McAllen 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites McAllen Offers Guests the Utmost in Comfort and Convenience. Ideally situated near McAllen International Airport, Staybridge Suites McAllen is in close proximity to the University of Texas Pan-Am and the McAllen Medical Center. This upscale, extended stay hotel in McAllen offers comfortable accommodations near noteworthy area attractions and major businesses. Extended stay guests of our pet friendly McAllen accommodations enjoy visiting the Basilica of Our Lady de San Juan and Bentsen-Rio Grande Valley State Park. Exciting events at the Dodge Arena and the McAllen Convention Center are also less than five miles away. Business travelers appreciate our McAllen, TX lodgings near corporations and maquiladoras, such as Panasonic, Black and Decker and TRW. In order to best accommodate our guests' business needs, over 200 sq. ft. of meeting space and free high-speed Internet access is also available on-site. During your stay, spacious suites with full-service kitchens, an outdoor pool and hot tub, a 24-hour Business Center, a well-equipped Fitness Center and complimentary laundry services are provided for your convenience. In the morning, we encourage you to visit our free, daily breakfast buffet, and, in the evening, we invite you to join us for community-oriented Sundowner Receptions. As you plan your trip, be sure to explore our excellent McAllen hotel rates and make your reservations with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Staybridge Suites McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing