We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for price and pets”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 McAllen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 McAllen
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for price and pets”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We're no stranger to Motel 6. This one is one of the better ones we've stayed at. As usual, very accommodating to pets. No complaints about our two small dogs. I'm not sure if it's all the rooms, but at least some of the rooms have wood laminate floors, because ours did, and that was LOVELY. Helped the room feel much cleaner and more inviting than carpet. A/C unit was quieter than most. Front desk staff was extremely friendly and polite. We did not feel unsafe here. Even refunded us for the second night with no complaints when we checked out at 4pm.. didn't even have to ask. We will definitely stay here when we return. Very pleasantly surprised for a Motel 6.

Room Tip: Try to get one with wood laminate floors. Not sure if all rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
5
3
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

This motel was pretty standard Motel 6, one of the older ones with exterior cooridors that are great for moving stuff from your car.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Carpets were dirty
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2007

THE GOOD

1. Its acroos expressway from The Plaza Mall
2. It has plenty of parking space
3. The cleaning staff is kind and helpful
4. The reception staff are friendly
5. Internet reservarion were OK and not a problem
6. The bed was clean.
7. AC worked fine
8. Everything in the bathroom were fine, no smells or moisture
9. The non smoking room were in fact free of cigarette aroma

THE NOT SO GOOD
1. By car, trying to go acroos expressway under the bridge is difficult, dangerous and slow
2. Pedestrians be carful under the bridge, trailers turn wide over sidewalks at high speed.

THE BAD
1. Carpet rooms need to be seriously cleaned or changed
2. The carpet do not smell but you may think twice before steping on it

If you can, try ti reserve a room on the Santa Ana Inn side, so noise from the Expressway wont be a problem.

The price is right for what you get.

Noisy neighbors might be a problem because, as in ALL MOTELS 6 the walls are kind of thin.

Leave a 2 dollar tip so the cleaning staff make an extra effort doing your room.

  • Liked — Its near from The Plaza Mall
  • Disliked — The carpets need maintenance
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2006

Well we pulled into McAllen, Texas and decided to save a couple of $'s so we booked into the Motel 6 for the night - it was relatively comfortable and clean, however they should consider using a mattress cover or at least a fitted bottom sheet!!!!!
We didn't think our first night was too terribly bad -so we then decided to stay another night - that was possibly one of our mistakes on this trip to Texas - the walls and floors were paper thin and it was a busy Friday night at this motel - we did not get a very good sleep with all the activity going on above us all night long!!! - we think we may avoid this motel in the future!!! - saving money is not always a good choice!!!!

B & J Walker
Canada

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PJWALKER13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these McAllen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McAllen hotels
1.0 mi away
Motel 6 McAllen East
Motel 6 McAllen East
#27 of 42 in McAllen
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn McAllen
Days Inn McAllen
#34 of 42 in McAllen
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mision Express McAllen
Mision Express McAllen
#25 of 42 in McAllen
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Studio 6 McAllen
Studio 6 McAllen
#22 of 42 in McAllen
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites McAllen
Comfort Suites McAllen
#21 of 42 in McAllen
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 McAllen

Property: Motel 6 McAllen
Address: 700 West Expressway 83, US 83 at 2nd Street, McAllen, TX 78501
Location: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 McAllen 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 McAllen is conveniently located off US 83. McAllen Civic Center, McAllen Botanical Gardens and Nature Center are within 5 miles. All guest rooms have a modern look. Wi-Fi available for a nominal fee, and outdoor unheated pool open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Motel-6, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Mcallen
Mcallen Motel 6
Mcallen Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing