We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate By Wyndham McAllen
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in McAllen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Xhiana
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Wingate By Wyndham McAllen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 314 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Walking distance to the airport was my main criteria. The rooms need a little maintenance even though they are nicely furnished, except the TV is still a tube and non-HD. Water pressure was very low. TV is hard to hear over the roar of the AC. Bed and pillows were comfy. Breakfast is hot but not a lot of choices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Alejandro O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank sarahrobey
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed here for an overnight. I go in at about 11:00pm and left at 10:30.

Check-in was fast and painless. There are two elevators and one of them was out of service but we didn't have to wait for long to get into it.

There is an interior hot tub but it was under maintenance. There is also a small gym with basic equipment and a small outside pool.

The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom had toiletries but there wasn't a robe or slippers available which is something that I would expect for a hotel in this price range. Also the TV is a regular tube instead of a flat screen, this could also change.

There was also a mini bar and a coffee maker. The AC was very quiet. The internet was fine and the connection was solid.

The breakfast had the usual staples, e.g. scrambled eggs, toast, cereal, bananas, coffee & tea, etc.

Although the hotel is right next to the airport I didn't hear any planes so the hotel either has very good noise insulation or there weren't any planes while I was there.

As for its location, it is right in front of the airport and also next to a shopping mall and there are some other restaurants within a 5 min drive.

For me it served its purpose, but I do think that it could do with a renovation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starfoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 2 nights and was very disappointed in my stay. The floors were clearly not cleaned in the main areas and in the room. The shower had little to no water pressure and the second night I had absolutely no hot water. What really set me back was the shoddy internet connection that would cut out and run deadly slow when I had full bars. Don't stay here.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Eholladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham McAllen
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAllen Convention Center
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate By Wyndham McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate By Wyndham McAllen

Address: 1500 Wichita Ave, McAllen, TX 78503-3052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in McAllen
Price Range: $75 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate By Wyndham McAllen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Wingate by Wyndham you get everything you need for one simple rate, comfortable beds, hot breakfast and Tues. - Thurs. delicious fresh omelette, done at your desire, 42" screen TV's, Free wifi, access to fitness center. Very good location, walking distance to the La Plaza Mall and McAllen Airport. Shuttle available from 6 AM - 9PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate By Wyndham McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate Hotel Mcallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing