We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor room condition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
brownsville, United States
1 review
“poor room condition”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

wet towels in hot tub, red marking on the tub floor bugs in the tub. when i called the front desk to clean the room they sent a maintenance man out. he took the bugs out and left the wet towels and red marking on the tub. just horrible

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of my staff and I we would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you during your recent stay. This is not the level service we strive for and truly pain us that we have failed you. We hope that if in the area again you give us another opportunity to redeem ourself and show you the true Hilton experience.

Sincerely,
Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    101
    45
    14
    12
See reviews for
99
27
23
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed there for a night, business was my mine reason to stay there, they have an outdoor pool, a good fitness center and for me that a plus.
Overall the hotel its quite good and the room was spotless clean and well equipped, bathroom could use an update. Price a bit high.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and I wanted to let you know that we also have a contract with our local Gold's Gym were our guest may go at no charge 5 minutes for our hotel. We also plans to update areas of the hotel and are awaiting confirmation. Please come back and see us again.

Thanks,
Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Other than a lack of an outdoor grill, my stay was great. The location is close to the airport and mall but others are closer. Restaurant across the parking lot was good. Expensive, but good. Pool and hot tub were nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and your kind comments. Our goal is to have a grill in the future for our guest to use and other amenties but happy you stayed with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks,
Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel overall was very nice. I only utilized the fitness center and the internet. I was very happy with the fitness center because it had weights and the elliptical. The only complaints that I have are that once I was getting set up I noticed that the bathroom counter had hair from a previous guest on it. The desk had some type of ants crawling around on it and the water pressure in the sink and shower was very low. The drain in the sink also drained very slowly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank LaShandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I wanted to reach out and sincerely apologize for all the issue you stated with your recent stay. We take these issue very serious and could assure that this has never happen before and are truly sorry. We hope that if in the area again you give us another opportunity to redeem ourselve and show you the true Hilton experience.

Thanks,
Jaime. E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We travelled with 4 adults and 2 toddlers in the hottest month of the year ( July).
The suite was nice and spacious, it was well equipped with all the regular items needed: tv, fridge, coffe maker, air dryer, etc.
The beds are equipped with a system that you can choose the rigidity of the mattress. We were unlucky as ours didn't work and the bed was very soft. ( I 'm a rigid bed lover).
The couch turned into a bed, but it was quite uncomfortable, so we ended pulling the mattress and placing it on the floor. This was much better!
The hotel itself is nice, good gym room and a small but useful pool and hot tub to relax in.
The kids enjoyed the pool very much. It is small, but large enough to play and goof off.
Breakfast is GREAT! Made to order eggs, great salsa, beans and mexican style breakfast! good variety of intercontinental style buffet items to choose from as well.
The best part is the location! 2 minutes feom the mall, toys r us, wallmart and target!
Overall, it was a good stay and the best part was that staying here you'll always be close to shopping action!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texcoco79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologize about the bed and hope we were able to resolve this issue for you. I'm glad you kids enjoyed themselves and that you also enjoyed the breakfast during your stay as this is one area we get lots of geat feed back on. We thank you for staying us and look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks,
Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I thought the service that was provided in all aspects of the hotel; room, bar, check-in was over the top. Great friendly and helpful crew. The staff went above and beyond to ensure all my needs were met.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank salicto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us as goal is to be as helpfull & friendly and to provide the best service possible to very guest from the day they walks in and leave the hotel.

Thanks,
Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very clean in all areas and all people working on the hotel were very helpfull and the location is great, you are very closed to wathever you need. very safe place with very good breakfast, I strongly recommend you to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Armando H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Comments like this let us know we are doing something right as our goal is to make every guest welcome and satisfied. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to serving you again.

Thanks,
Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
0.2 mi away
Drury Suites McAllen
Drury Suites McAllen
#15 of 42 in McAllen
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
3.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham McAllen
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport
Address: 617 W Expressway 83, McAllen, TX 78503-2931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in McAllen
#6 Business Hotel in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Rio Grande Valley, the Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport hotel is just one mile from McAllen Airport (MFE) and minutes from the Foreign Trade Zone. Take advantage of our thoughtful range of amenities. Plunge into the outdoor swimming pool and relax in the whirlpool. Work out in the fitness center, or borrow a Stay Fit Kit(R) to keep fit in the privacy of your own room. Enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast at the hotel's restaurant, the Great American Grill(R), or keep up with work in the 24-hour Business Center. Plus, use the complimentary WiFi that is available in each room. The hotel's two meeting rooms provide ample space for up to 100 guests and can be adapted to suit a range of seating styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Mcallen Hotel Mcallen
Hilton Mcallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing