We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in the Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in the Valley”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been traveling to the Valley for the last 25 years, and this hotel is most definitely the place to stay. It's safe, luxurious, the food is good and the price is reasonable. The cheapest rooms are rather small, but the larger room and/or the suites are great. The restaurant is good, so is room service, and the pool and outside area are very relaxing.

Room Tip: the lowest price rooms are very small -- get the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aluck2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, Manager at Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear aluck2013,

Thank you for the wonderful review.

We are delighted you took the time to detail the review as you did. As a frequent traveler to the Valley, it is refreshing to see all that you have discovered within the hotel. Our goal is to insure complete satisfaction of every guest for every stay.

We look forward to many returns!

Live Life to Discover,

Matthew Keller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    71
    31
    18
    19
See reviews for
29
40
16
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NOVA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm glad others enjoyed their stay from all the positive reviews but this is the first time I ever had to switch hotels completely. My first room had an ant infestation and the second room smelled of sewer. Was the staff friendly? Yes. Did the outside of the hotel look inviting and charming? Yes. Did I just get unlucky? Possibly. They did offer to change my room for a third time but at that point I just wanted out. All I can say is....this hotel needs some attention. It isn't the fault of most of the staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank telleroftruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, Manager at Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Telleroftruth,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing our hotel.

First, and foremost, I must apologize for the inconvenience of the ants and the sewer smell. Certainly there is no excuse, however through your efforts, we have notified our chief engineer regarding the ants and the sewer smell and assure you, these inconveniences should not occur in the future.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience you incurred and look forward to you next stay with us.

Live Life to Discover,

Matthew Keller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a beautiful interior courtyard with a pool and garden. I only drink non-alcoholic beverages and the bartender has always created something special with great taste. Love the rooms. My king bed had 6 pillows instead of the usual 4. They have a great breakfast buffet on the weekends. I would recommend an interior courtyard view room with balcony. These are extra large rooms and well appointed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BradJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, Manager at Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear BradJack,

Thank you very much for the excellent review of our hotel.

Renaissance Guests are Discoverers and we are pleased you were able to discover many of our amenities. The creation of non alcoholic drinks for you are just some of the little extras we are happy to provide and all of our team is dedicated to the satisfaction of our guests.

Remember, once you are here, you are part of the family. We look forward to your return to you home away from home.

Live Life to Discover,

Matthew Keller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

To be honest, I wasn't excited about traveling to McAllen. However, the bright-spot was this hotel. It's an old hotel, but very nicely updated. The room was very nice with a comfortable bed. The pool was great, in an enclosed patio area. The bar was nice. If you have to travel to McAllen, give this place a try.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, Manager at Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear JB101,

Thank you for taking your time to write such a wonderful review our property.

We were thrilled to surprise you with our property amenities and service. Now that you know we are here, you can be excited about coming to McAllen and spending more time with us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Live Life to Discover,

Matthew Keller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It was our first trip to McAllen for a family gathering Casa De Palmas was recommended by a friend who had attended and function at the hotel and spoke very highly of the beauty and service. We were not disappointed rooms were clean and comfortable. The Hotel staff both at the front desk and restaurant were very friendly and inviting. We spend a very relaxing 2 days at this beautiful property. We will certainly stay again and recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinklady92013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, Manager at Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Pinklady92013,

Thank you for the excellent review and the wonderful words about our hotel.

We were thrilled to be the host of your family events and look forward to many more. Every team member is dedicated to your complete satisfaction and we look forward to your next visit.

Thank you again for the kind words.

Live Life to Discover,

Matthew Keller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lovely hotel. Staff was very accommodating and had an extra bed ready for our daughter who was staying with us. Beautiful landscape and lovely bar. Parking was also very convenient and we didn't need to drag our suitcases through the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, Manager at Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Jen S.

Thank you for taking the time to write this Great Review.

Our team and I are always ready and delighted to take care of you and your family every time you return to McAllen. Remember, once you stay with us, you are family.

We look forward to your return home.

Live Life to Discover,

Matthew Keller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Beautiful, well-maintained property. Comfortable and attractive common facilities. Nice, elegant rooms. Very polite and helpful staff. Free parking and reasonable room rates. Well-located in central part of city. Our preferred hotel in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faustino g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, Manager at Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Faustino G,

Thank you for the fantastic review.

Renaissance Guests are Discoverers and it looks like you have certainly discovered our hotel and its amenities. We are proud to be your preferred hotel in McAllen.

We look forward to your next visit with us in the near future.

Live Life to Discover,

Matthew Keller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McAllen hotels
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
2.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham McAllen
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAllen Convention Center
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
1.4 mi away
Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel

Property: Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel
Address: 101 N Main St, McAllen, TX 78501-4628 (Formerly Renaissance Casa de Palmas)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historical, full-service luxury hotel originally built in 1918 is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of the entertainment & downtown shopping district. It is conveniently located 2 miles North of McAllen Miller International Airport and La Plaza Mall. The charming hotel combines the magic of yesterday with the conveniences of today offering a rich experience of hospitality, luxury, and comfort; a blend of the old-world and the contemporary unparalleled to any other hotel in the valley. Our full-service hotel features a total of 165 deluxe guestrooms, 24 hour business center, 24 hour state-of-the-art fitness center, on-site restaurant, bar, private club lounge, stunning courtyard pool and up to 6500 square feet of elegant event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa De Palmas Renaissance McAllen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Casa De Palmas Hotel Mcallen
Renaissance Mcallen
Mcallen Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing