We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its like a full apt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 McAllen East
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in McAllen
Lewisville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Its like a full apt”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Big, its like a full apt, full refrigerator, stove, just make sure to bring your own spices to cook and food.

We were very pleasantly surprise by this rooms. We will use them again in Tx because there is a big improvement Here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaname2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
10
7
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico now (lived in Jamaica and Trinidad)
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Ok, it's an inexpensive hotel and it was clean. I wasn't too surprised that there was no coffee maker in the room, no hair dryer, no iron, no refrigerator, no microwave, and no continental breakfast. But here's where they were uniquely cheap: NO shampoo in the room? We had to go out at night to buy some. And NO alarm clock/clock radio? I have never stayed in a hotel that didn't provide at least shampoo and a clock. Here's where it gets completely unacceptable: Because I didn't have an alarm clock, I requested a wake-up call from the front desk. THEY DIDN'T CALL. Awoke to the taxi in front, honking, so had to rush out with no time to get ready. And even worse: the hotel manager refused to even apologize for this. "They must have put the note in the wrong place." I could have missed my flight! The guy actually got snippy.

We moved to the America's Best Value Inn in Harlingen, which cost the same as the one in Mcallen. The service at the ABVI in Harlingen was great AND they DID provide not only shampoo and a clock (and a wake up call), but the room had an iron, a hair dryer, a microwave and frig., free use of a computer in the lobby and even breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenreyes, Manager at Motel 6 McAllen East, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
I am so sorry to see that you did not enjoy yoru stay I have looked into the issues that you mentioned and have taken care of them. We are hoping to offer a larger Breakfast in the near future, and hope that you return so that I may show you the true meaning of customer service.

Thank You
Mayur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In the woods @ the end of the road
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Overcharged at the Pharr ABVI, (see review for that location) I moved here to find a bare bones version which should be called Motel 6, because that's what the front clerks say
management is trying to copy. Room with one bed was small & comfortable. Walls are thin as I could hear voices & tv next door. With so few people staying there, why would you put them side by side or one above another? Newer 42" flat screen tv with about 60 channels. Desk top fridge.

I thought I'd get a continental breakfast like other America's Best Value Inns. WRONG!
The owner(s) is too CHEAP. Apparently keeping enough granulated sugar on hand for the FREE COFFEE is more than they could handle. That and the dead bug on the floor next to the head of the bed caused me to leave.

There is a fellow who works there and wears a "Customer Relations" badge who said
he'd see what he could do to remove the charge for one night or comp me on my next stay. He should definitely be management, but the owner(s) don't have the sense.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hermit8547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenreyes, Manager at Motel 6 McAllen East, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
I am so very sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay I have looked into the issues that you described and have taken care of them. We are hoping to offer a larger Breakfast in the near future, and hope that you return so that I may show you the true meaning of customer service.

Thank You
Mayur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floresville, Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed at the Americas Best Value Inn over Thanksgiving. The property and the pool were very clean and the price was very reasonable, especially over a holiday. The rooms were nice and roomy and the beds were very comfortable. I would recommend staying there if you're ever in McAllen.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vchavez39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenreyes, Manager at Motel 6 McAllen East, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
I am so very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay I hope to see you again soon

Thank You

Mayur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I've been to other americas best value inns before and I usually get a mediocre room. They have wonderful beds and a great staff. I normally pay almost double for a room else where for the same quality of room. I would definitely stay here again !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenreyes, Manager at Motel 6 McAllen East, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you return soon

Thank You

Mayur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Stay Date: 9/5/09 1 night
Just returned from a last minute "Labor Day" Trip down to Mc Allen TX. Made reservation for couple rooms well ahead of time, but when we arrived/ checked-in, the reservation desk could only find 1 approved reservation. Evidently there was problems. The clerk was very, very nice about getting the issue resolved. She went very much beyond her way to help out. We appreciated that. However, the hotel offiers very, very limited accomodations, for example, soap/shampoo is kept on wall in dispensers. One of my guests asked for a complimentary razor, & was told the hotel did not supply them. American offers a continental breakfast, again very, very limited & all cold food,i.e.cereal, milk. Pool was out of order due to rain the night before, & the owner did say it woulld be available the next day, & I'd be notified, I wasn't & it wasn't available. Don't recommend staying @ this place if U'r looking for a pleasant above average stay.

Helpful?
Thank LadyInCharge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, TX
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,213 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

I stayed at this Microtel over the 3 nights of 25-27 May 2007. The motel is within 4 miles of the McAllen airport.

To reach the motel, exit the airport via either Bicentennial or 10th Street, turn right onto the Hwy. 83 frontage road, get onto the freeway, exit "Jackson/Sam Houston," U-turn under 83, and prepare to turn right into the motel's lot. The motel is between a drive-through bank and a Joe's Crab Shack (which you should AVOID -- there is plenty of other fast and sit-down food across the highway). The neighborhood is safe.

There is plenty of parking in front and on either side of this 3-story motel (which has interior corridors). The lobby is spotless. All rooms are nonsmoking, but there's an ashtray outside the lobby doors.

Just off the lobby is a breakfast room (open 6a-10a), featuring cereals, fresh rolls & pastries, coffees & juices, and a hot-waffle machine. The quality and quantity of the items and the duration of service were excellent. There's a cola machine on every floor in the middle of the hall, beside the elevator.

I checked in very late (midnightish). The front desk had my web reservation (2-night minimum for $45/night). I asked for and was given the top floor, quietest room possible. The speedy elevator took me to the 3rd floor and room 306 with its key-card entry.

My immediate impression was that the room was spotless, and that it was neither overly spacious nor too cramped. The room featured a queen bed flanked by wall-mounted nightstands; a wall-mounted desk with a chair; thick curtains over what appeared to be a sleeping-ledge (padded and with an angled headrest), on which I set my suitcase; and (dig this) PLENTY of available electrical outlets. The room had exceptional internal lighting (entryway, desk, and over the bed).

The air conditioner was strong and responsive. As an absolute boon (anytime, in any motel/hotel), the fan stayed running even when the compressor was off. This masked any noise that may have been coming from the halls or from outside the window. The walls between rooms are blessedly thick; I heard nothing from guests whom I knew to be there. As a consequence, I slept very well.

One side of the mattress was interesting, so I slept on the other side. Of the 3 pillows, 2 were plush and 1 was thinner, allowing a mix-&-match suitable for anyone's preference. The bed linens were new and spotless.

The bathroom was spotless. The sink area had enough counter space on which to spread out toiletries. There was no plunger in the sink (big deal). The water pressure in the sink, toilet, and shower was adequate, and superior to what one usually gets on a 3rd floor. Two bars of soap, conditioning shampoo, and plenty of plastic cups were provided. The only negative aspect concerned the towels: Two bath towels (only 1 fluffy), one hand towel, and no washcloths. I later asked the front desk for more and was told that there were no more.

The only dissatisfying aspect of my stay concerned the towels. I was never supplied more than 1 hand towel or washcloth, so I had to keep asking for extras. (I overheard other guests also requesting more towels.) Of all the linens that I got over my 3-day stay, most were thin/scratchy, and some were stained (with old make-up or similar). Every item smelled clean, certainly, but there comes a time to retire bath linens that are past their useful life. I'm also mystified by the claim that the linens were "scarce" in quantity; the local Joy Dollar store sold 2 very fluffy washcloths for a buck.

Housekeeping was excellent, unobtrusive, and not overdone (no one moved my stuff in order to clean). The front-desk staff were invariably helpful, knowledgeable, and responsive. Checkout was as slick as a whistle.

I'd last stayed in a Microtel in 2002 and had equally positive impressions. The McAllen Microtel is a credit to the Microtel chain, and I would stay here again with pleasure.

  • Liked — The cleanliness was enviable, with excellent value for price paid.
  • Disliked — 90% of the bath linens are past their useful life.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank TBoneTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McAllen
1.1 mi away
Studio 6 McAllen
Studio 6 McAllen
#22 of 41 in McAllen
56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown
1.1 mi away
Days Inn McAllen
Days Inn McAllen
#35 of 41 in McAllen
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#27 of 41 in McAllen
98 reviews
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites McAllen
Staybridge Suites McAllen
#19 of 41 in McAllen
112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 12 in Pharr
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 McAllen East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 McAllen East

Property: Motel 6 McAllen East
Address: 801 E Expressway 83, McAllen, TX 78501-1160 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 McAllen East 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 McAllen is a three story interior hotel with plenty of semi-truck and bus parking. Enjoy our outdoor pool open year round & BBQ area. All guest rooms are modern and non-smoking with free Wi-Fi and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Motel-6, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 McAllen East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing