We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite restaurants”
Review of Mama's Pizzeria

Mama's Pizzeria
Ranked #65 of 451 Restaurants in McAllen
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

This place has my favorite pasta- chicken chipotle pasta (you can also add shrimp), the baked ziti is also really good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roxy1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
298 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Terrific pizza on Texas-Mexico border.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Who knew? Can a transplanted Yankee on a business trip find great pizza in a border town? Ricky Bob says yes you can at Mama's. Terrific crust, fresh toppings, and a funky interior that was just fun. Did not try the pasta but it sure looked good . I am sold! Will return for more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rickybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pizza Burger!!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We love this place. It's clean, welcoming and such great food. But, I just can't get away from their Pizza Burger. It comes with a side of fries sprinkled with parmesan cheese.
Their house salad has a wonderful house dressing that you can purchase which we have. It doesn't last long.
My son requests Mama's for his birthday every year.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra9193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Favorite Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We are winter Texans and started coming here 4 years ago. We bring our friends and have always had excellent food. My wife's favorite is Mama's great white pizza and I also like the lasagne. Our service has always been friendly with a family atmosphere. They will not share the family recipes! Keep the great food coming.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ECDCNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
“Always a great time and great food”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family and I have been there twice in the last month and we love this place. Besides the pizza we have had the Gyro sandwich, Chicken Pesto, Bacon Cheeseburger and all of them rocked. They have a sinful Banana, Caramel pie that will change your life. The staff goes waaay above and beyond for the guest and are always in super spirits. Just an amazing overall experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ppkoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mama's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing