We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

β€œOn a downward slide”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn McAllen
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in McAllen
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have been to this hotel before and the service and perks are diminishing as time goes by. The housekeeping empties the room trash cans most days but not every day. They have 2 signs up for the evening light meal. One states Monday-Thursday and the other Monday-Wednesday. And it is Mon-Wed now. Breakfast starts later then practical for most business travelers. I was going to stay 2 weeks, however after considering my options; I decided to check out early and in to another hotel for the duration of my trip. The staff was very polite and professional at the desk and dinning room. I wanted to grill a stake one evening and found the gas grill was not very clean and in very poor condition. I stay at this type of hotel so I can avoid eating out every night while on the road and I really enjoy a grilled stake about once a week. With all the choices for hotels in the area (allot of them less then 3 years old), I really think they need to either re model or rebuild in a new location. They need to also check out the competition if they want to be above them. I Love the Marriott brand and try to stay when ever I can. However when you’re on the road 200 days a year or more only great hotels will do. I look forward to coming back in the future and I will try them again if I see changes have been made.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Residence Inn McAllen, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Hello, thank you for giving your feedback on your recent stay. I apologize for not meeting your expectations. We actually have order new parts for the grill and it should be here the week of May 20th. I will address the housekeeping issue and we have removed the old brochures at the front desk that had the old time for dinner. I would like to make this right and earn your business again. I thank you for your loyalty to Marriott and to our Hotel. Please email me your contact so I could speak with you further. Thank you again.

Joshua Rodriguez
General Manager
joshua.rodriguez@pillarhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 62 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many months over the last year, and it has been by far the best Marriott experience I've had. The staff is very hospitable and friendly, rooms are clean and well maintained, breakfast is excellent on a regular basis. I would not stay anywhere but the Residence Inn while visiting McAllen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Residence Inn McAllen, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and great comments. We will share with the staff. We look forward to your next visit and we thank you for your loyalty to Marriott.

Joshua Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel was clean and welcoming. I average 170 days a year at marriott hotels. This is one of the best Residence Inns that I have stayed at. The hotel staff was very helpful and supportive. Their shuttle service to near by places to eat made it easy to get places without a car.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Residence Inn McAllen, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay once again. We strive always to give great service and clean rooms. We look forward to your next visit and see you soon. Take care

Joshua Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I recently used this hotel as a along stay property for our tour group. We stayed for 18 days in one and two bedroom units. The hotel is small, very clean and well maintained. The units are good size altough we found the placement of the living room furniture in our unit, a bit odd and rearranged it for our stay. The kitchens are well equipped with dishes, pots etc. and have a full size fridge, a stove top, microwave, coffee maker, toaster and dishwasher. They provide dish cloths and dish soap.
There are light suppers with beverages, three days a week. The food was fine, it's not meant to be a big dinner. The hotel is within walking distance to a couple restaurants and the hotel offers a shuttle service to shopping and restaurants and the airport. There are lots of restaurants in the area and a large mall is a few minutes away. It is a short drive to downtown and to many attractions.
The staff is wonderful. From front desk to maids, maintainance were helpful, friendly, made you welcome. The manager and sales staff regularly helped at the front desk, visited with guests, helped carry luggage and always had a time to answer questions and that says a lot in my opinion. They care.
There is a pool and hot tub off the lobby. If I have a complaint it is the lack of pool lounges and the old outdoor furniture. I think there were 4 lounges and 3 had broken straps. All the pool funiture should be updated. I also realize hotel funiture takes an awful beating from guest and it is costly to replace.
Will I be back? Absolutely!! l checked out several suite hotels for our tour before deciding on the Residence Inn. I can confidently say our client enjoyed the hotel, had only good comments. I know that whenever we are in Texas we will be staying here

Room Tip: avoid the rooms close to the elevator and the laundry. Can be noisy at time. there are limited saf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADELEL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Residence Inn McAllen, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and giving us your feedback. We really enjoyed having your group here and look forward to your next return. Thanks again and have a great summer.
Joshua Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I travel to McAllen frequently and have stayed at other hotels, but none are as good as the Residence Inn Marriott in McAllen. They have always been friendly and accommodating despite how busy they are. I have had questions about dining and a variety of things and they are always ready with the answer or ready to find the answer.
They greet me with a friendly smile and seem to genuinely care about my stay. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bed is comfortable and welcoming. The location is great as well, close to the gym down the street and the hospitals nearby.
Thank you McAllen Residence Inn for the home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenjaminG40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Residence Inn McAllen, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and letting us know about the staff. We appreciate the feedback and we strive to provide great service to all. We thank you for your loyalty every month and we always enjoy having you as one of our guests. Thanks again and see you soon.

Joshua Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed on a business trip for two nights in McAllen Texas. The hotel was clean, the breakfast was delicious, and the accommodations even better than we expected. But what puts this hotel ahead of the rest is the service and the people working at the hotel. Everyone was very friendly and quick to help if there was a question or need. Every little detail was taken care of, phone calls were made, phone cords found, access to the meeting room arranged. Not once did we feel we they were put-out, but they smiled and helped and asked what else we needed. I would DEFINITELY stay here again if we come back down to Texas. Our whole group was so impressed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Residence Inn McAllen, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback. We are very proud of our team service and appreciate your comments. We always strive to give our best service and clean suites as you experienced. Thanks again for your time and we look forward to your next visit to McAllen.
Joshua Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed one week while visiting family; would likely not go back to this hotel.
The good: rooms are very large, most with a full kitchen. Beds are quite comfortable; bathroom is adequate. Cleaning staff did a great job every day.
The not so good: furniture is well worn, with an armchair that has most of the finish scraped off. Windows are not clear (moisture??) and difficult to open. The vanity and sink are outside the bathroom and adjacent the bed; so it's impossible for one person to get cleaned up without waking anyone else in the room. As is often the case, one cannot turn on the bathroom light without also turning on an annoyingly loud fan.
A laundry room on our floor was very convenient.
The breakfast was somewhat worse than anything else we encountered on this trip. Cut up fruit consisted solely of pineapple... in an area where oranges and grapefruit abound. Scrambled eggs and DIY waffles were the mainstay of the breakfast. Coffee was "available" during the evening, but it was always cold.
Staff were friendly, but we were surprised at how little local knowledge front desk personnel had. Inquiries about local restaurants were not well answered, nor our questions about things to see and do in the area.
The hotel is somewhat difficult to locate, with an address that most GPS devices would not find. Although it is quite close to the main highway it is surprisingly quiet. There is a wonderful walking/running/cycling trail one short block away.

Room Tip: There is some walking noise from the room above, so pick the top floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Residence Inn McAllen, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your current stay. We appreciate your time and comments regarding your suite. The Hotel is making arrangements for replacing the chairs you saw. We will visit with the Front Desk staff to have more information available. Thanks again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites McAllen
Staybridge Suites McAllen
#20 of 40 in McAllen
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites McAllen
2.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Mcallen Convention Center
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites McAllen
SpringHill Suites McAllen
#15 of 40 in McAllen
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn McAllen

Address: 220 W Expressway 83, McAllen, TX 78501-2951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in McAllen
Price Range: $90 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn McAllen 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated Residence Inn McAllen is proud to be the business travelers' preferred choice for extended-stay McAllen, TX hotels. We elevate your long-term stay by combining all the comfort of home with our passion for making you feel welcome. Find our McAllen, Texas hotel only minutes from Miller International Airport (free shuttle on request) and local attractions such as Reynosa, Nuevo Progresso and the Quinta Mazatlan for bird watching. Our 78 spacious McAllen suites provide ample comfort, including separate work and living areas, furnished kitchens and a free grocery service. Our McAllen, TX hotel's other perks include free Wi-Fi, evening hospitality hours (M-W) and delicious free healthy breakfast every morning. A well-equipped fitness center helps you keep up your routine, or you can play a healthy game at the Sport Court(R). Whatever you need, trust our knowledgeable and friendly staff to be at your service 24/7. Among extended-stay hotels in McAllen, TX, Residence Inn by Marriott is the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcallen Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing