We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You know what you'll get...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lobster

Red Lobster
Ranked #18 of 445 Restaurants in McAllen
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
México
Level Contributor
422 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“You know what you'll get...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Food is very good (although some light options would be necessary). Service is very good and friendly. I witnessed an "inspector" making sure that the whole place was clean (including rugs and decoration).

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fevigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bartow, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“OK for a rubber stamp fish place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

A lot better than some Red L's we've tried. They all lack something - I guess you could say they lack individuality. The fish they serve can be ok. As I said, this was better than some we've encountered.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Waitress and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

For us, it is always great to find excellent food and and excellent service all at the same location. We found both at the Red Lobster in McAllen, TX. Our waitress was a very friendly, pleasant young woman who was highly efficient and she made our experience all the more enjoyable. Obviously this place has a great reputation in the community as it was packed with people and many, many were waiting in the bar, lobby, and even outside in the parking lot!! Definitely recommend highly!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vagabond025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Red Lobster - What else can you say?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

It's a chain. You've been to one RL, you've been to them all. Nice staff, good food, great biscuits.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weslaco, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner, wrong place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

At first I wanted to go to another place, but changed my mind as I had had some very good meals here. Bad idea, go with your first choice.
I had stuffed Flounder, dont think Flounder was legal size to catch in Texas, and tasted like Asian. Stuffing had very little flavor. Wife had a shrimp dish and I was amazed to see the ground-up and formed like shrimp! Same things you see on a Chinese all-you-can-eat buffet.
I will not go back because I like seafood, so will look for a restaurant that serves it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taxguy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lobster also viewed

 

Been to Red Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing