We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a rubber stamp fish place”
Review of Red Lobster

Red Lobster
Ranked #23 of 451 Restaurants in McAllen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bartow, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“OK for a rubber stamp fish place”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

A lot better than some Red L's we've tried. They all lack something - I guess you could say they lack individuality. The fish they serve can be ok. As I said, this was better than some we've encountered.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    35
    21
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Waitress and Food”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

For us, it is always great to find excellent food and and excellent service all at the same location. We found both at the Red Lobster in McAllen, TX. Our waitress was a very friendly, pleasant young woman who was highly efficient and she made our experience all the more enjoyable. Obviously this place has a great reputation in the community as it was packed with people and many, many were waiting in the bar, lobby, and even outside in the parking lot!! Definitely recommend highly!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vagabond025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Red Lobster - What else can you say?”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

It's a chain. You've been to one RL, you've been to them all. Nice staff, good food, great biscuits.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weslaco, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner, wrong place”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

At first I wanted to go to another place, but changed my mind as I had had some very good meals here. Bad idea, go with your first choice.
I had stuffed Flounder, dont think Flounder was legal size to catch in Texas, and tasted like Asian. Stuffing had very little flavor. Wife had a shrimp dish and I was amazed to see the ground-up and formed like shrimp! Same things you see on a Chinese all-you-can-eat buffet.
I will not go back because I like seafood, so will look for a restaurant that serves it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taxguy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent lobsters and seafood. A gift from the sea.”
Reviewed June 22, 2010

After several months of having abandoned the Red Lobster from Bus. 83, McAllen, due to excessive waiting line, they finally opened another one. The new one is full now, so we we went back to old faithful. Bisquits are freshly made, with a touch of garlic, you can´t stop eating , but you must. The Clam Chowder you can't miss, order a small bowl. Then the salad, a side dish you can leave behind since a treat awaits ahead. I ordered a live lobster fresh from the tank, and my husband the suggestion of the day: grilled salmon. My lobster passed in front of me as it was taken from the tank to the water. I felt soooo guilty; but I ate it all anyway, it was delicious and I thanked the earth and the sea for such a delicious gift. The salmon was great too, but not the shinning star of the night. Desserts are good but become so unimportant after the delicious food, we actually ate a cheesecake with good flavor, just for a change in our tastebuds. We left the place with a complete sensation of happiness to reencounter an old faithful restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crab123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lobster also viewed

 

Been to Red Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing