We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice for this area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Certificate of Excellence
KY
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Really nice for this area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

If you end up in McAllen, this is a nice place to stay. Clean, roomy, complimentary breakfast and dinner as well as free WiFi. The rooms are large and have a kitchen. I'm really picky but couldn't find anything to complain about. Lots of food and shopping around the hotel. Recommended !

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank thekubiaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    50
    23
    15
    7
See reviews for
76
20
10
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalmar, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lovely suites for a small group of relatives (2 bed-suite with 2 bathrooms). Roomy, spacious fully working kitchen with tea and coffee maker. Complimentary 'light dinner' with drinks Mon.-Thurs. was amazing value. Lovely patio outside the dining room for evening drinks by the pool. Very relaxing after a hard day bird-watching,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank RowenaJansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed in McAllen Homewood Suite Oct 28 -Nov 1 for work in Reynosa Mexico, just across the border. This an excelent place to stay. Close to everything, staff was great, took you where you needed to go. I would reccomend this hotel to any business traveler.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I traveled to McAllen for business and booked online because of the great reviews. There was some sewage issue of sorts because the smell was terrible in the lobby (which is where the meal was served). This is surely not a continuous issue, but I would be remiss if I didn't mention this first impression. However, immediately the front desk person won me over give me details about the property in a friendly manner.

The room was huge. I think it was bigger than my first apartment so I could definitely see a family of 4 easily using these rooms. As an added bonus the hotel offers free dinners Mon-Thur (menu on the fridge in the room) and free breakfast every day. The breakfast offers a variety so I was even able to eat healthily on the road!

The fitness room included cardio machines and free weights (yay!) which is rare. The location is good and close to many stores and restaurants.

Overall it was a very good stay and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawyer, North Dakota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was my first experience and will not be my last, the room was perfect and better than expected. Meals are average but included in price. Hotel was clean and inviting. Looked forward to returning each evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Homewood Suites on Ware Rd. in McAllen was amazing. The manager, staff and hotel are wonderful. Very nice suite with privacy for the entire family. Everything was great! Everyone had a choice of what they wanted for breakfast. I didn't want to miss my workout and was talking to the front desk. They offerred to shuttle me to the Gold's Gym just in time to take my favorite class. They even picked me up afterwards even though I was all sweaty! I was actually sad that we had to end our mini-vaca and go back to reality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Missed a lot of the standard amenities but great overnight stay. Room was quite and clean. Bed was soft AC was working properly. Was not able to use the fitness, pool or take advantage of the breakfast

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
homewood1mcallen, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your business and positve feed back. All of us at Homewood-McAllen, Texas are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham McAllen
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAllen Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen
Address: 3801 W Expressway 83, McAllen, TX 78503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in McAllen
#5 Family Hotel in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes from McAllen Miller International Airport and in easy reach of downtown McAllen, the Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen, Texas hotel is your home from home. However long you're staying for, you'll like the freedom your spacious suite offers. Enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast served daily and evening dinner and drinks, served every evening Monday to Thursday. With a private bedroom and a separate living room with fold-out sofa bed, you have the space to get down to some work or keep all the family happy. Catch the big game on one of the two flatscreen TVs or put on your favorite TV show. Use the complimentary WiFi access to check your emails and surf the web. With a fully equipped kitchen, making a meal or a snack just the way you like it is easy. Work-out in the modern fitness center or swim some laps under the warm Texan sun in the outdoor pool. Challenge family or friends to a quick game on the basketball court. If you're looking for a venue for your meeting or celebration in McAllen, this hotel is a perfect choice. Two function rooms have space for up to 60 attendees. It's all you need to make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcallen Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing