We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and staff - no complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel and staff - no complaints”
Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

Let me start off by saying that the location of this hotel is perfect to dining/shopping and bars. It's right off the expressway and it has easy access to everything.

The hotel rooms are nice and spacious and there are an abundance of cable/hd channels for your viewing. The rooms seem as if they were recently updated to you have the granite on the counters and the dark wood doors. I really like the fact of having a ceiling fan I'm the bedroom (I was in a 1 bed king suite). The cleaning staff is very efficient and the staff down stairs is very attentive to all needs.

If I was ever back in the McAllen area then I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trueratings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    53
    23
    17
    8
See reviews for
84
22
10
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upland, California
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is proably the nicest hotel in the area, especially if you are an HHonors member and want a Hilton property. It is pretty newish, and thus doesn't have a lot of stains and broken things and the like. The internet is extremely slow. The housekeeping is very good and I had no problems. The breakfast has refried beans and tortillas almost every day (amongst other things), so I have to say that that is awesome. Overall, this is a good property, but it just isn't extraordinary. I would definitely stay here again though.

Room Tip: I had a room adjacent to the stairwell and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pharmarep1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for about 2 1/2 weeks, including a major holiday, on business. I was thoroughly satisfied with my stay from start to finish. The room was very comfortable, and cleaned thoroughly each day. I was grateful to have complimentary, reliable internet access in the room, as well as a copy of USA Today delivered to the room on weekdays. I appreciated so much having a hot breakfast available each morning and dinner Mon.- Thu. evenings. As a previous reveiwer noted, the food available is not always the healthiest from a low fat/low cal. perspective, but cold cereal and yogurt were always options at breakfast, and a fresh salad was always an option at dinner. The refried beans and tortillas served each morning at breakfast, as well as some of the dinner menu reflects the ethnicity of the area; McAllen is a border town and it seemed to me the majority of the visitors (not counting the US govt. personnel staying there) were Mexican- either Christmas shopping, visiting family, or both. The exercise room was small, but more than adequate- and was well-equipped with Precor cardio equipment (with individual TV's), free weights, and exercise balls; an exercise mat, full length mirror, water and towels were also available, as was an outdoor pool and basketball half-court. The small business center was a separate room with two computers and a printer, all of which were in working condition- and importantly, quiet and conducive to working! The hotel was walking distance to a Cracker Barrel and a Five Guys Burgers and Fries restaurant; many other restaurants (Mimi's Cafe; Cheddar's; PF Changs; Subway; Whataburger; Wienerschnitzel; etc.) are within a mile or two of the hotel. The front desk were friendly and professional; the ladies who worked keeping the food stations were filled were also pleasant and helpful. The only negatives I can think of are occasional airplane noise (the hotel is over the flight path to the airport, which is close by) and the shopping center location- it is next door to an Academy Sports store and a Marriott Springhill Suites. Nevertheless, I would highly recommend this hotel for either a business or a leisure stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flabbytabbycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2011

While being away from home, for quite sometime, i could hardly tell the difference. While it cant compare to my actual home, i wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in McAllen. From the courteous, staff and management, to the warm atmosphere. I love it here. They will go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable during your stay. This establishment could compete with a 5 star facility any day! So if you are looking for a place to stay while visiting McAllen, TX, weather it be business or pleasure this is the place to be. Don't take my word for it come and check it out. You probably will not want to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side offer a great view of the pool, and courtyard area. Great on a sunny day to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodMcAllen, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write such a great review regarding your visit.

We are so proud to have all of our associates take personal pride to make sure every guests has a memorable stay! You are Welcome to your "Home away from home" anytime you're back in McAllen!

Kindest regards,
Roxanne Pequeño
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad, Iraq
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel by far is the best the staff and rooms are outstanding ...so if you are in Mcallen give this hotel a try... Just ask for Roxanne,Betty,Jerry,Ivan,Hugo they will more than happy to help you.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGBOI1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

From the lady that checked me in at 12 noon 5-15 to the gentleman ( Hugo) that offered me more wine at 9pm (which I might add is after the free cocktail hour) this place is a perfect 10. Hilton should be proud to have this hotel as part of their chain. A perfect 10!!!

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wayfarer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Hotel was nice overall, nice facilities, GREAT gym, nice pool, half basketball court, nice dining area. The room was acceptable, nothing to rave about but quite nice for a three star under/around 100 bucks a night. The hotel experienced a broken water pipe while I was there, which was quite inconvienient, however things like this happen, and the hotel should not be held at fault. Water was restored within 2 days, and the following week the effected area on the ground floor had been repaired back to normal. It would have been nice to recieve a notification of the event from the front desk. I had no idea why I had no water in my room until hours later when a colleague of mine told me what happened.
Now, if you are reading this review you might want to know about the stuff that matters:
-Front desk staff: AWESOME
-Beds: excellent, if you like soft and comfy like I do
-food: VERY delicious, although I have a strict diet, so I could only eat their meal once in a while. The days I couldn't eat, I badly badly wanted to. Monday-Thursday free beer and food, good food!
-location: Next to an Acadamey store, and a Cracker Barrel. SAFE location. Withing walking distance of McAlisters Deli, Buffalo Wild wings, some Brewery place, Macaroni Grill, PF Changs and assorted stores in a mall type area. Wal-Mart of Mission TX next exit down, about 2 miles or so.

Oh, and on OCCASION you MIGHT hear a plane take off from the airport, but in 45 days I think I noticed it like 3 or 4 times. Not really a problem at all.

Bottom line, i've been in a few better hotels, but i've been in far many WORSE hotels. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham McAllen
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Mcallen Convention Center
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAllen Convention Center
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen
Address: 3801 W Expressway 83, McAllen, TX 78503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in McAllen
#5 Family Hotel in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes from McAllen Miller International Airport and in easy reach of downtown McAllen, the Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen, Texas hotel is your home from home. However long you're staying for, you'll like the freedom your spacious suite offers. Enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast served daily and evening dinner and drinks, served every evening Monday to Thursday. With a private bedroom and a separate living room with fold-out sofa bed, you have the space to get down to some work or keep all the family happy. Catch the big game on one of the two flatscreen TVs or put on your favorite TV show. Use the complimentary WiFi access to check your emails and surf the web. With a fully equipped kitchen, making a meal or a snack just the way you like it is easy. Work-out in the modern fitness center or swim some laps under the warm Texan sun in the outdoor pool. Challenge family or friends to a quick game on the basketball court. If you're looking for a venue for your meeting or celebration in McAllen, this hotel is a perfect choice. Two function rooms have space for up to 60 attendees. It's all you need to make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcallen Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing