We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Restaurant”
Review of La Pampa Mc Allen - CLOSED

La Pampa Mc Allen
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: "This upscale ranch-style restaurant serves Argentinean cuisine with its european influence on display. Our entree of Angus beef melted in our mouth. Delicious Clericot added the right touch for a wonderful continental inspired evening." - Texas Monthly
Pharr, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Restaurant”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Food is great and fresh. Service is like being pampered all the time.
People who go there is because they can afford it, since it's not cheap!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and atomsphere”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you're looking to splurge and treat yourself to some $$$$$ steaks and all that goes with, this is the place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
213 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent for a date night!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband & I highly recommend La Pampa to any visitors & locals that want to treat themselves to a wonderful dinner. My husband & our guests usually have the Beef de Lomo, which is a seared tenderloin. I have never tried it, but they rave about it any time we are there. I am a vegetarian, & was pleasantly surprised to see that they have several options available for non-meat eaters. Their mashed potatoes, mushrooms in port wine, and grilled vegetables are sensational. Everything is seasoned well & cooked to perfection. The bread, along with herb oil dip, is also very good. Prices are very reasonable for the quality of food, presentation, & overall ambiance of the restaurant. Definitely the place to go to in McAllen if you are taking someone out on a "nice" date.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thereeds_2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not consistent”
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Overall difficult to predict
Stakes may be the best one day and The next day is another story
Wine list small
Service average

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and food”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

McAllen locals took us to this "their favorite steak place in McAllen" last Friday night. Located in a new looking strip center was surprising and ordered grilled tenderloins served on sizzling platters with sides of grilled vegies and family style salad. Everything was excellent. Of particular note, the marinated onions and aujus were a unique treat used as a vinegary topping complimenting the meat. Be forewarned those innocent looking green serrano-ish peppers mixed in for color and flavor will knock your sombrero off your head even if you are used to south TX spicey!

The service was very attentive and surprisingly personal despite the fact we were a large group of 12, but admitedly our hosts were well known high profile regulars so I'm sure we got the royal treatment.

It is in a new looking strip center (but so is everything in McAllen it seems these days) The interior decor and atmosphere was definetly upscale befitting the prices, but not too stuffy. I would go back and I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 09erDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pampa Mc Allen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing