We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Historical area, walk to Amtrak depot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Oaks Bed and Breakfast

Three Oaks Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Oaks Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Three Oaks Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 6 Marshall B&B and Inns
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Historical area, walk to Amtrak depot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Nice home, friendly hosts, lots of beautiful furnishings, quiet street, old fashioned large front porch with plenty of seating. Breakfast was good, elegant table setting.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrosas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

My husband and I just stayed at the Three Oaks and had an absolutely delightful time. Owners Donna and Michael are lovely - they are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, and go above and beyond to accommodate their guests. When I made the reservation I let Donna know I was vegan - for breakfast they served us hemp granola with hemp milk and fruit salads. Wow! The B&B is very-well maintained and extremely clean. The furnishings are also a wow - loads of antiques and amazing details. Lastly, the front porch is a wonderful place to spend a peaceful morning chatting with the hosts or reading. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abigail_in_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
364 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

The location here is pretty eat, just up the street from the train station. We wanted to see the depot museum but a train derailment a few days prior knocked out a transformer and almost sent some cars into the historic depot - too bad. This is an 1895 Victorian house, a little darker than what we prefer, but goes with the era. Interesting collection that they owners have assembled inside. The bathroom was created out of a closet so its pretty small and the shower is in the room - different , but makes for some great pictures! The stuffed french toast for breakfast was great! Really appreciated the innkeepers' recommendation of OS2 Restaurant downtown, it was great and the courthouse is a must see building.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RKAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

This is such a nice place to stay. Everything we wanted from a B and B and lots more. We really enjoyed meeting Donna and her family and hearing about the great history of the knock out gorgeous mansion. The room was plenty big and the bed and bedding were comfy. One of the best decorated B and B's we've ever stayed in. Really nice but not Gramma's Attic. Donna is the best, we loved getting to know her. What an interesting person.
This time we were in the area for a conference, but usually we go to visit here because of the beautiful Caddo Lake. We have stayed at all kinds of places in the area, even camped. This was my favorite. We will definetly be back.

  • Liked — Beautiful house
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TimTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

Tucked away down a side street that might look a little seedy at first, but the old house is pretty neat if you like old Victorian style. The owner-Donna, is a hoot in a very interesting way-she's done just about everything out of the ordinary and is very knowledgeable about the house and it's history. Says it's haunted, but she's told the ghosts to back off.....

We had the largest room-great master bed and lots of chairs and little sofas.

Cooks a mean breakfast too!

We would go definitely back again.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Dclairmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levallois-Perret, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2006

My sister and I recently spend two nights in Marshall on a visit to our mom. We wanted to experience some of the old time feel of East Texas and were fortunate to discover the Three Oaks B&B. 3 Oaks is a beautifully decorated house from the 1890's right in the historical district. More importantly the owners make it into an inviting home (not a museum) where guests are treated as part of the family. What a treat! We were spoiled by their hospitality and enjoyed their impressions on local life, coffee & cake at tea time and an impromptu playing of a 1920's victrola, among other things. Breakfast was good and particularly appreciated by mom, whom the Mussellmans generously set a place for on our second day. If you are looking just for a place to sleep or don't particularly enjoy interacting with people, I would go to a local hotel. But if you enjoy being around interesting people in a confortable but not pretentious setting, you will love this place. Wireless intenet was plus. We will definitely be going back!

Helpful?
5 Thank jroussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marshall hotels
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marshall
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Marshall
Comfort Suites Marshall
#2 of 15 in Marshall
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Marshall
Hampton Inn Marshall
#3 of 15 in Marshall
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marshall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Oaks Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Oaks Bed and Breakfast

Property: Three Oaks Bed and Breakfast
Address: 609 N Washington Ave, Marshall, TX 75670-2009
Location: United States > Texas > Marshall
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing