We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Korean War Vets review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Marshall
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Marshall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2012

To Whom it may concern, my wife and I recently stayed at your hotel in Marshall. I am not complaining about the hotel and the people who work there but would suppose it is a Marriott management complaint.
I asked the desk if you offer a special rate for Vets and verified that I was a Vet from the Korean War and the reply was yes, those on active duty. That is wonderful that the active duty Vets are rewarded for their service to our country. My complaint is that you do not offer a discount for all Vets, like the Holiday Inn and others, since we all put our "butt" on the line for this country and our citizens.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMarshall, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Marshall, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your experience here at our hotel. I am glad to see that you were happy with our hotel and staff, but not with the rate. Unfortunately, we are a frachised hotel. Our hands are tied in more than one way regarding rates. We appreciate all that you and the rest of the military (both active duty and veterans) have done for our country. We would not be where we are without you. I will speak with my corporate office to see what more I can do to open that option for you. Again, I am truly sorry that we were not able to honor that for you. Please contact me via email at agm@fairfieldmarshall.com or by phone at (903)938-7666.

Sincerely,

Erin M. Smith
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 416 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed overnight on a business trip. Taken aback by the friendliness and proficiency of the staff.
Room was excellent and breakfast was beyond expectations. There was an IHOP across the parking lot and a Waffle house < 1 block away....no need.

I highly recommend this Fairfield

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRIBOB_7745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMarshall, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Marshall, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Wow! Thanks for the great review! It is wonderful to hear that we thoroughly impressed you with both our facility and staff! It is very handy that we have IHOP so close to the hotel. Alot of our guests like to go there because they don't have to get out and drive anywhere. We hope that the next time you are in Marshall, you will stay with us again!

Thanks,

Erin M. Smith
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This experience was luxurious.
They greeted me at the front door.
There was a beautiful Christmas tree in the lobby.
The pool and hot tub stayed open until 11 p.m. They had plenty of pool towels in the indoor pool area.

The suite was elegant and well appointed. The room towels, linens, and bedding were plush.
It felt like a Hyatt or a Hilton.

Breakfast had plenty of hot and cold choices, and was ready at 6 a.m.

Awesome stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wtxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMarshall, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Marshall, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

What an outstanding review!! Thank you so much for all of the amazing words and compliments about our hotel! Everyone here at the hotel would like to thank you! It is great that you listed all of the amenities that you liked best about our hotel. That will let other Trip Advisor users know more about what we offer. Again, that you so much for taking the time out to write this review on our hotel. You are greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Erin M. Smith
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I am a member of several hotel rewards programs and travel quite a bit. This Fairfield is head and shoulders above most hotels. Great beds and bedding. The rooms were elegantly appointed. The towels were substantial.

For a Fairfield price, you get a Hyatt or Hilton experience in Marshall, Texas.

Also, I like the fact that the pool/hot tub was open until 11 p.m., and that breakfast was available at 6 a.m.

Best place to stay in East Texas.

Room Tip: The King Suite was quite lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wtxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMarshall, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Marshall, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Thank you for writing this review about our hotel. Being a member of various hotel rewards programs means that you are very familiar with the different brands and what each one offers. You guys are normally the hardest critics. We are certainly glad that we could exceed your expectations. We strive to make this the best hotel experience you could possibly have while being away from home. Traveling with family during the holidays going place to place can be stressful, so it is nice to know that we were a pleasant part of your holiday season. If you are ever in Marshall again, we hope that you will stay with us!

Thanks,

Erin M. Smith
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Stayed here Dec 23 on the way from FL to Dallas. While we were only there one night, the room was very clean, beds were comfortable, service was good, and the free breakfast had many items to choose from.

We would definetly stay at this property again!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsm112375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMarshall, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Marshall, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Thanks for your review! We are so glad that you stopped in Marshall on your way through to Dallas. We understand how stressful the holidays can be with trying to get everything done in time and get where you are going. It is wonderful to hear that you had a great stay and would return. We are nothing without our guests. We truly appreciate you. We hope that you had a great Christmas holiday and wish you a Happy New Year!

Thanks,

Erin Smith
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I travel throughout the USA, i like Marriot Hotels, this hotel is above average, it has nice clean rooms, excellent beds and bedding, the staff went out of their way to help me with my needs. I recommend this hotel as a nice comfortable place to lay your head and take a break.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMarshall, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Marshall, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Wow!! What a great review! Thank you so much for writing about your experience here for all of the Trip Advisor users to see! We are truly flattered that despite the number of hotels you have stayed, you will still thoroughly impressed with ours! We strive to make each guest's experience exactly that. We would like to be remembered and have you all return! We were more than happy to help you. If you are ever in Marshall again, we hope you will stop in!

Thanks,

Erin Smith
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

My wife and I travelled to Marshall the week before Christmas and really enjoyed the Fairfield in Marshall. This is the nicest Fairfield I have stayed in. Breakfast included hot eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy - more than the prepackaged items at most Fairfields. We stayed in the Jacuzzi suite and it was very romantic - you can watch TV from the tub.

We toured the "Wonderland of Lights" in Marshall and shops downtown. We also visited Jefferson which is only 15 minutes away. Lots of great shops, beautiful homes and a Christmas Train (a real steam locomotive) that travels through the woods with lights and decorated scenes.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suites near elevator are large and very nice. You can sit in the tub and see the TV through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMarshall, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Marshall, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Thank you so much for writing a review about your stay! We greatly appreciate all of the compliments. Our goal was to make sure that you and your wife had an amazing stay and be able to enjoy the festivities of the area. The King Jacuzzi Suite is our top room. I am so glad that you reserved it and loved it! It's nice to spoil yourself every once in a while. You couldn't have picked a better time to visit Marshall. It was the 25th anniversary of the Wonderland of Lights. Everything was bigger and better than ever! Again, I want to thank you for this wonderful review. We hope that you will return to the area and come see us again!!

Thanks,

Erin Smith
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshall
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Marshall
Comfort Suites Marshall
#3 of 14 in Marshall
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marshall
Hampton Inn Marshall
#1 of 14 in Marshall
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marshall
0.3 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
21.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Longview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Marshall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Marshall

Address: 105 Interstate 20 W, Marshall, TX 75672-8374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Marshall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Marshall
Price Range: $93 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Marshall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Marshall offers three-star accommodations perfectly suited for business and leisure-travelers. Spread among three-floors, the guestrooms at our hotel in Marshall, Texas range from king and queen deluxe rooms to spacious executive and Jacuzzi suites. All are beautifully decorated in warm tones accented with vibrant touches. Fairfield-Inn & Suites by Marriott Marshall also furnishes its beds with plush foam pillows. Enjoy a flat screen TV, complimentary toiletries, wired and wireless Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in your guestroom conveniently located near Jefferson, Texas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Marshall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Marshall
Fairfield Marshall
Marshall Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing