We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual items for a "Road Trip" dinner”

Porky's Smokehouse and Grill
Ranked #11 of 74 Restaurants in Marshall
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unusual items for a "Road Trip" dinner”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here during a road trip.

Atmosphere: What you would expect of a barbeque joint in Marshall, TX. Clean and well kept.

Food: Pulled pork was well cooked and seasoned, good, but not outstanding. The fried catfish was well seasoned and tasty. Many of the items we had were spicey, not necessarily unusual for barbeque, but the potato salad and tartar sauce each was flavored with a hot sauce. Also the batter on the fried fish was spicey. Another unusual item on their menu is the "fish biscuits" served with the fried fish. Actually, they are biscuits which have been seasoned with the fish batter and then deep fried just like the fish. Quite tasty, but not something you would want to eat several of or eat very often.

Service: Prompt and friendly.

Conclusion: While I couldn't eat here daily, it was a "fun" place with different food, which is part of the fun of a road trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sohohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum-Yum”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great food. Great prices. Comfortable relaxed atmosphere. That porky pig sandwich is the best. Loved the whole experience. Will visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camellia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“...enjoyed local BBQ...try the Porky Pig!..”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

small mom and pops BBQ....friendly people and clean...food was served quickly, and tasted great!...the location was in close proxinity to our hotel. The Porky Pig selection was like not other I have every had!.....fun to be in TEXAS!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Stockton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great road food”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had cat fish, potato salad, pulled pork, and the porky pig-all were as advertised by other reviews on trip advisor-EXCELLENT!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los gatos, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very affordable”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Good Southern food. We had the sliced beef and pulled pork sandwiches, and the fried catfish. It was all very good and the prices are unbelievable.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeoTheGreyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porky's Smokehouse and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Porky's Smokehouse and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing