We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Food Was Ok, The Service was REALLY Slow”

Blue Frog Restaurant and Catering
Ranked #13 of 73 Restaurants in Marshall
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Texas Cuisine with a Continental Flare. Local grown greens, home baked bread and pastries, Certified Angus Beef and fresh fish daily. Join us for dinner and enjoy the best outdoor music venue within walking distance of the Historic Harrison County Courthouse. Blue Frog now lives in the same space with Charlies Backyard Bar to bring the best food, best music and best beverage in town!
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Food Was Ok, The Service was REALLY Slow”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We went to visit a college in Marshall and were walking around the square when we happened upon the Blue Frog Grill. Two ladies were leaving and we asked them how the food was. They said it was so good that they were there last night and they came back the next day. We went in and I spotted homemade bread and was most pleaased. We went and sat down. There was only 1 waitress and she had to be new. There were only 3 tables of patrons and we waited 20 minutes for our drinks and 20 more minutes to order. It took almost 2 hours to finally get out of there.... I love a sleepy little town but I dont love having to spend the whole time in a restaurant and miss all of the fun going on outside... sigh...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredCoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFG101, Owner at Blue Frog Restaurant and Catering, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Frog! I printed your review and did an immediate impromptu training with our front of the house staff! Which, if your review date was your dining date, was a new college student. None of us like hearing the negative experiences, however, if genuine they are typically needed and excellent opportunities to make us better. Good luck with your college search and should you find yourself in Marshall again I hope you'll stop by again. Bon Appetit - Shawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just run of mill”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

With a name like Blue Frog I was expecting something out of the ordinary - something very tastey. The lemon baked chick en with vegs for lunch was bland. All the lemon pepper was on the skin thus no flavor in the meat. The vegs were good. Some of the other items on the menu seamed high for Marshall, TX

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The BEST Black Bean Burger EVER!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I attended Marshall's New Year New You Health Fest in January 2013. Totally awesome event by the way. Had the great pleasure of eating Blue Frog's handmade black bean burgers with sweet tator fries. It was the biggest, tastiest bb burger I have ever eaten in my life. Totally worth the price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill_McKeever1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hum Hum”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great food with awesome service. Food 10 out of 10. Service 10 out of 10. State of the business 10 out of 10. I love the people and the food. I will go back and enjoy my self. When in Marshall, Texas while on the town square stop in at the Blue Frog and relive sit in dining at its best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly folks.”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We made the short trip to Marshall to view the Christmas lighting and stopped in here for dinner. Although we arrived only a few minutes before closing time, the owner and staff were courteous and seemed glad we'd come.

The food was very good. With 7 in our party and each ordering something different, we had a chance to sample a wide variety of dishes and no one was disappointed. The highlights: The burgers are made from 100% Angus beef. The quality really comes through. The chicken salad and chicken soup are homemade and very "chunky". Both are winners. The french fries are battered before frying and are the bomb. The belgian waffle that comes with the chicken and waffles was tender and flavorful. And finally, the kids in our group enjoyed mac and cheese, which was as good as I've ever tasted.

All in all, a really good meal in downtown Marshall.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Frog Restaurant and Catering also viewed

 

Been to Blue Frog Restaurant and Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing