We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never got to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Marshall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I made reservations 2 months in advance, recieved confirmation email, then the day before arrival, I checked online and my room had been cancelled. No one tried to contact me of this matter. When I called, they were not willing to help me and all rooms were booked up. I requested to talk to the manager, who was supposedly busy, I never recieved a call back. This is very poor management and is not acceptable to me. I have stayed at this hotel before but never will again!

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank CheriM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickH0287, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2010

I'm very sorry that you had a poor experience with our hotel and that this disrupted your travel arrangements, however, I feel that this incident deserves further explanation. While you are correct that you did in fact book your reservation well in advance, the terms of the "Advance Purchase" discount require a full pre-payment at time of booking. When the payment was not recieved, we attempted to contact the you, but the phone number listed on the reservation was invalid. At this point in time, the reservation was cancelled due to non-compliance with the terms of the reservation.

I'm very sorry that this misunderstanding with the "Advance Purchase" policy has occured and that your travel arrangements were disrupted. It is my sincerest hope that in the furture you might allow us to accomodate you while in the Marshall area. Until then, I wish you well, and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 98 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2010

This is a nice, fairly new hotel. The room was large and clean and the a/c worked well. The bed was a little hard for me, but my kids thought it was fine. No problems with the room itself, except for the thin walls. We were close to a staircase, and for some reason some of the residents were using the stairs between 1:30 and 3:00 am. Every time they opened and slammed the door to the staircase it woke me. The breakfast was nice, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, gravy and bisquits and all the pastries. My biggest complaint was the pool. It was filthy and full of ants. And it would have been nice to have a hot tub.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlover2141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickH0287, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I'm very sorry that you experienced some issues while a guest at our hotel. I've shared your comments with the General Manager, as well as other Department Heads, so we can make sure those problems are not repeated.

I'd like to take a moment to address them and let you know what has been done in response. First, the firmness of the mattress, unfortunately this has been a recurring issue with our guests and because of this we are currently making selections for new, softer mattress pads. It is our hope to have these improvements in place sometime in the next month. Secondly, the conditions of the pool, the ants you saw were actually flying ants from the nearby field, this is a seasonal issue in East Texas during the spring and early summer. Regardless however, this does not make up for the experience you had at our pool and in response we've moved up our cleaning schedules from once a day to two or three times a day as necessary to ensure that such an occurrence does not repeat itself.

Again, I apologize for the issues that you encountered while at our hotel and I hope that when you next need accommodation in Marshall you will return and I assure you that you will find these issues remedied. Thank you again for taking the time to share with us, we greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

I came to Marshall for a business meeting, an associate booked my hotel for me so I wasn't quite sure where I was headed. The address is a little bit tricky and can be easy to miss and for some reason my GPS would not accept the address, however I called the hotel and they guided me in without a problem.

The service was excellent, and the rooms were very nice. Only minor issue was being right near the highway with the traffic noise. All around a wonderful stay. Would definately stay again next time business takes me that way.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSmith78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickH0287, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2010

We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed our property while on business in Marshall. I've taken the liberty of sharing your comments with the staff and we would like to thank you for being our guest and for the kind words. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again next time.

-Patrick H., Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Great value for the money, staff was friendly and courteous, hotel is very clean,excellent breakfast, I would stay at this hotel again! We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nylonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

My husband and I stay at the Marshall Holiday in July and the stay was great. We stayed this past Labor Day weekend and the stay was not quite so good. We had a room at the end of the hallway next to the stairs. The elevator was not working properly I was told, Due to the Large Volume of Guests" staying that weekend. The hotel is only 1 year old!!! The noise from the hallway and stairs door was horrible!! We stayed 3 nights and I was exhausted when I got home. Didn't sleep a wink. I didn't realize the walls were so paper thin I could hear every word the people in the next room and in the hallway were saying. I hope next time we travel to that area, we stay in Jefferson!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Texas-Clay2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

The beds are like concrete. But the worst is the customer service....or lack thereof! Avoid this place. Try the Hampton or anything. DO NOT STAY at the HI Marshall.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triptakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Although it is at first a little tricky to get to, one phone call to the front desk led us in the right direction. GPS was of little help-in fact it sent us on a far and strange trip away from the hotel. Don't trust your GPS if you are trying to find this hotel. I can not say enough about how genuine, helpful, and friendly all the staff were. The check in, check out and breakfast personel were all wonderful. Everyone had such positive attitudes. The hotel is obviously new. It is clean with beautiful accomodations. The room interior and bathrooms could match a 4 star hotel. The free breakfast was one of the best compared to other hotels in this classifaction/category. It had a large variety and was well stocked. There were a variety of milks, eggs, sausage, rolls, yogerts, cereals, hot cereals-nice selection. If you need a hotel in this area, I would say hands down it would be your best choice and value.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marshall hotels
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marshall
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Marshall
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Marshall
Hampton Inn Marshall
#1 of 14 in Marshall
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Marshall
Comfort Suites Marshall
#3 of 14 in Marshall
144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Marshall
Days Inn & Suites Marshall
#13 of 14 in Marshall
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall

Address: 500 Interstate 20 E, Marshall, TX 75672-9700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Marshall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Marshall
Price Range: $101 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Marshall near the Josey Ranch. Our Marshall, TX hotel is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.Families looking for lodging in Marshall, Texas will love staying at our hotel, located just off I-20 at Highway 59, with close proximity to the educational institutes of ETBU, Wiley College and Texas State Tech. This Marshall, TX hotel is convenient to numerous local attractions, including the Josey Ranch, Caddo Lake, the Starr Family State Historical Site and our world-renowned pottery stores. Other sights and activities include the Riverboat Casinos in Shreveport-Bossier, a historic downtown and many yearly festivals.Business travelers will be impressed by the comforts of our Marshall, Texas accommodations. Situated in a suburban area, we offer you easy access to several large companies, such as the Marshall Courthouse, Weatherford, Martex Drilling Company, Nomac and the Marshall pottery manufacturers. Our Marshall, TX hotel also provides a Business Center with computer access, fax, copy and printing services and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access.While you are lodging in Marshall, TX, you can enjoy our amenities including a convenient Sweets Shop, an outdoor pool, a patio with grills and the free hot breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Marshall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing