We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Likely not again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Marshall
Certificate of Excellence
fort worth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Likely not again”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed here on a Sunday. Upon check in I told the desk clerk I had a voucher for 1000 points for signing up on hie club. I was new to this and had no clue what it was. I asked her and she simply handed me a brochure, no explanation or anything. Ok thanks.
From 8pm to 1am there was a large group of people just outside of our room. The people were drinking copius amounts of beer. Clacking around the bottles. And their children running around yelling. This prompted 3 phone calls to the front desk. Curfew for the pool was 10pm. Her response each time was I will tell them to quiet down and each time they would get loud again. Why could she have not just sent them back to their room? But nope. We had to listen to them til early morning.
Our room was nice, but was not clean completely. On the floor near the bed was a toenail. In the bathroom on the floor was a dead fly and makeup shavings on the floor from eyeliner.
Breakfast was ok. Pancake machine was broken, just our luck. But the lady working at the breakfast was extremely nice and jovial and went above and beyond tending to our needs. I love holiday inn express but this place kinda blows

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisajarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    28
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
39
18
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I didn't care for the satelite TV. About 30 channels available and 9 were ESPN. They had 2 HBO channels (one HD) and was told they were supposed to show the same channel but they didn't. I had a hard time trying to figure out what to watch as the HBO guide didn't always correspond with what was on the channel.
Also didn't care for the location being next to a truck stop and having to deal with numerous 18 wheelers coming/going and blocking quick access to/from the hotel.
The hotel staff was the friendliest I've ever encountered. The wireless internet was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rotornut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I always stay at Holiday Inn Expresses when I travel. I am often driving long distances, and I will split my trip into two days, so it is important to me that I am able to sleep. Normally, I love any HIE, but this was not a night of peaceful sleep. As everyone else has commented, the walls are paper thin. As I was getting ready for bed I could hear the man in the room next to me talking on the phone to his little girl (she was on speaker phone, and I could hear every word they were saying). It was like he was in the room with me. I was able to fall asleep, but I was woken up by snoring in the room next to me. Also, the guy at the front desk was talking on the phone, and I could hear every word he was saying. Finally at 1am I went to the front desk to ask to be moved to a room on a different floor. The man at the front desk was polite and did move me to a different room, but he never apologized or even got off the phone while I was talking with him. I was finally able to fall asleep after moving rooms. Besides the terrible noise problem the hotel was very nice. The breakfast was very good. The woman who checked me in and out was very nice and much more professional than the man I had talked with the night before. The rooms were clean. Some reviews have said the beds were hard, but I did not notice. I would recommend this hotel only for someone who is not a light sleeper.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler444433364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Overall, I thought the hotel was pretty good for the area it was in. The rooms were clean, furnishings were nice, decent lighting in rooms and a fair sized bathroom.

There area few major issues. First, the WiFi internet sucked. Ver very slow and usually there was no bandwith to use.

Second, on one trip I had a room facing the highway. You will hear it all night. It did not bother me, but I could see it annoying a lot of people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sm122097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickH0287, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall, responded to this review, February 12, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with us, your feedback is immensely important to us. We always strive to provide the best service possible for our guests, however, as you mention, the WiFi at the hotel has been lacking and management has been aware of the issue. In today's world a slow or unreliable internet connection is simply unacceptable, especially to a business traveler.

I am happy to report that at the end of January we enhanced our guest internet circuit from 1.5Mbps to a full 8Mbps, to allow for greater speed and reliability.

From the information in your review it is not clear whether your stay with us was pre or post upgrade however if your stay was prior to this, you should find the internet much more to your liking if you should return to Marshall. If by chance your stay was post upgrade, I would encourage you to please contact me directly so that we might determine if any further enhancements are needed.

Thank you so much again for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I made reservations 2 months in advance, recieved confirmation email, then the day before arrival, I checked online and my room had been cancelled. No one tried to contact me of this matter. When I called, they were not willing to help me and all rooms were booked up. I requested to talk to the manager, who was supposedly busy, I never recieved a call back. This is very poor management and is not acceptable to me. I have stayed at this hotel before but never will again!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CheriM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickH0287, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall, responded to this review, October 9, 2010
I'm very sorry that you had a poor experience with our hotel and that this disrupted your travel arrangements, however, I feel that this incident deserves further explanation. While you are correct that you did in fact book your reservation well in advance, the terms of the "Advance Purchase" discount require a full pre-payment at time of booking. When the payment was not recieved, we attempted to contact the you, but the phone number listed on the reservation was invalid. At this point in time, the reservation was cancelled due to non-compliance with the terms of the reservation.

I'm very sorry that this misunderstanding with the "Advance Purchase" policy has occured and that your travel arrangements were disrupted. It is my sincerest hope that in the furture you might allow us to accomodate you while in the Marshall area. Until then, I wish you well, and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

This is a nice, fairly new hotel. The room was large and clean and the a/c worked well. The bed was a little hard for me, but my kids thought it was fine. No problems with the room itself, except for the thin walls. We were close to a staircase, and for some reason some of the residents were using the stairs between 1:30 and 3:00 am. Every time they opened and slammed the door to the staircase it woke me. The breakfast was nice, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, gravy and bisquits and all the pastries. My biggest complaint was the pool. It was filthy and full of ants. And it would have been nice to have a hot tub.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlover2141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickH0287, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall, responded to this review, June 26, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I'm very sorry that you experienced some issues while a guest at our hotel. I've shared your comments with the General Manager, as well as other Department Heads, so we can make sure those problems are not repeated.

I'd like to take a moment to address them and let you know what has been done in response. First, the firmness of the mattress, unfortunately this has been a recurring issue with our guests and because of this we are currently making selections for new, softer mattress pads. It is our hope to have these improvements in place sometime in the next month. Secondly, the conditions of the pool, the ants you saw were actually flying ants from the nearby field, this is a seasonal issue in East Texas during the spring and early summer. Regardless however, this does not make up for the experience you had at our pool and in response we've moved up our cleaning schedules from once a day to two or three times a day as necessary to ensure that such an occurrence does not repeat itself.

Again, I apologize for the issues that you encountered while at our hotel and I hope that when you next need accommodation in Marshall you will return and I assure you that you will find these issues remedied. Thank you again for taking the time to share with us, we greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2010

I came to Marshall for a business meeting, an associate booked my hotel for me so I wasn't quite sure where I was headed. The address is a little bit tricky and can be easy to miss and for some reason my GPS would not accept the address, however I called the hotel and they guided me in without a problem.

The service was excellent, and the rooms were very nice. Only minor issue was being right near the highway with the traffic noise. All around a wonderful stay. Would definately stay again next time business takes me that way.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSmith78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickH0287, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall, responded to this review, May 13, 2010
We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed our property while on business in Marshall. I've taken the liberty of sharing your comments with the staff and we would like to thank you for being our guest and for the kind words. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again next time.

-Patrick H., Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marshall hotels
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marshall
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marshall
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Marshall
Comfort Suites Marshall
#4 of 14 in Marshall
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Marshall
Hampton Inn Marshall
#2 of 14 in Marshall
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Marshall
Econo Lodge Marshall
#8 of 14 in Marshall
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall
Address: 500 Interstate 20 E, Marshall, TX 75672-9700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Marshall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Marshall near the Josey Ranch. Our Marshall, TX hotel is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.Families looking for lodging in Marshall, Texas will love staying at our hotel, located just off I-20 at Highway 59, with close proximity to the educational institutes of ETBU, Wiley College and Texas State Tech. This Marshall, TX hotel is convenient to numerous local attractions, including the Josey Ranch, Caddo Lake, the Starr Family State Historical Site and our world-renowned pottery stores. Other sights and activities include the Riverboat Casinos in Shreveport-Bossier, a historic downtown and many yearly festivals.Business travelers will be impressed by the comforts of our Marshall, Texas accommodations. Situated in a suburban area, we offer you easy access to several large companies, such as the Marshall Courthouse, Weatherford, Martex Drilling Company, Nomac and the Marshall pottery manufacturers. Our Marshall, TX hotel also provides a Business Center with computer access, fax, copy and printing services and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access.While you are lodging in Marshall, TX, you can enjoy our amenities including a convenient Sweets Shop, an outdoor pool, a patio with grills and the free hot breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Marshall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing