We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Good Eatin”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cajun Tex

Cajun Tex
Ranked #3 of 73 Restaurants in Marshall
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Jefferson, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Some Good Eatin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I really loved this restaurant. The service is number 1 and the food is belly and backbone satisfying. I go through Marshall, Texas a lot and mostly during lunch hour. I promise you during this time there is not parking space for a couple blocks down. They say a southerner know the kitchen through and CajunTex by the time they done the meal should have entitled a pillow and a blanket cause honey after their meal you just want to sleep. Enjoy the good eatin and Yalls Come Back Yer Hear.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnny H, Owner at Cajun Tex, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor. To show our appreciation , print this message and bring it in for 15% off your next bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    35
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Most popular restaurant in Marshall for a reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is the place that all the locals will tell you to hit if you move here (I know, because I did a couple months ago). Although it's far from fancy, they have a diverse menu of tasty choices that are a good introduction to basic cajun food. I especially enjoy the crawfish pies, the crab bisque, and the banana pudding. I'm not sure if all of those are on the standard menu, but they appear as specials frequently. In fact, I don't think I've ever ordered off the regular menu because the specials always look tasty.

One important warning -- the parking situation is less than good, and this place is very popular with the locals. If you come at a peak time, be prepared to look for parking on side streets and walk, because the lot is nowhere near big enough.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hemingway155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnny H, Owner at Cajun Tex, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor. To show our appreciation , print this message and bring it in for 15% off your next bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Texas
1 review
“Great Place to Eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Cajun Tex is my favorite place to eat. Thier Southwest Chicken is the best with thier loading mashed potatoes. Staff is friendly and the food is always hot. Always look forward to coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stella05_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We got a recommendation at the reception of our hotel.

They serve local food that tastes truly fantastic.

The service personnel was great. The owner came around and we had a great chat.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth leaving Louisiana for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm from Louisiana so I can get Cajun food much closer to home, but whenever I'm in Marshall, Cajun Tex tops my list of places to eat. It's easy to get to (W. Grand is Hwy 80), the staff is friendly, the service is fast, and the food is terrific. The ordering process is deli-style from the counter, but the charming waitresses bring the food to your table, several of which are old-school family size picnic tables. The atmosphere is fun and family-friendly, prices are reasonable, and everything I've tried has been flavorful and filling.

They also support local and regional musicians with live music performances in the evenings. It's a great place to get together with friends, to take the family, or to start date night with some live music and excellent food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ask_a_local_71101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cajun Tex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing