We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cajun in Texas”
Review of Cajun Tex

Cajun Tex
Ranked #3 of 73 Restaurants in Marshall
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Hallsville, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cajun in Texas”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Was visting Marshall for the Wonderland of Lights, was reconmmened this place. Hmm Hmm good. The Boudain Balls were as good as Mom's and the Gumbo had lots of ingredients not like others that water down their soups.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Madicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    36
    21
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nasty place to eat”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I generally judge the cleanliness of a place by how sanitary it's restrooms are and Cajun Tex was filthy. As we walked to our table I realized how nasty the floor was, our shoes stuck to the floor. When I walked up to the counter before leaving I had a chance to look into the kitchen area and sadly the kitchen area made the nasty restrooms look clean. Don't know how they manage to pass when the health inspector comes around, I'll never eat there again. they may know a lot about preparing food, but nothing about cleanliness.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank captnron99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrills Ford, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We have been traveling to Marshall for years to visit family. Just the other day we decided to try Cajun Tex at its new location near downtown Marshall. It has a very laid back decor and feel to it. The menu can be a little daunting as it is fairly extensive for Marshall. BT the food is absolutely delicious!! The owner came over to the table and personally delivered our food. He even threw in a surprise crab cake topped with crawfish and hollandaise sauce. Overall it was an excellent choice. The food, service, and prices were excellent. I will definitely be going back to Cajun Tex the next time I am in Marshall!

Helpful?
Thank BigTexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cajun Tex - Marshall, Tx”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I was expecting a restaurant where you sit down and order from a menu and a waiter brings the food to you. I drove for hours to meet my Mom here who also drove several hours from Little Rock. I was disappointed when I got inside and saw how it actually was. You get a paper menu and order at the front and they bring the food to your table when it's ready.
BUT, it was worth it. We stayed here for 2 hours visiting and exchanging Christmas presents (yes in June) and no one gave us a hard time about taking up a table for 2 hours. There were 2 women working up front and a guy in back cooking. Sorry, I didn't get anyone's names, but the woman who took our order was very nice and professional and the food didn't take long at all. We had alligator po' boys with cajun fries and the food was great. It'd be pretty easy to serve bad alligator but this stuff was perfect. You could tell it was fresh and there were lots of toppings you could choose from and add to your sandwich yourself. I wish we were closer and I would eat here all the time. Great place to eat some great food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilaA325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Louisiana
Level Contributor
288 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent meals with large portions”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Food was very good and with friendly service. Did take some time to get the food though.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenfrogtrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cajun Tex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing