We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FUN...FUN..Fantastic”
Review of Riata Inn Marfa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marfa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riata Inn Marfa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
Mathis, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FUN...FUN..Fantastic”
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We were six of us women traveling thru the Big Bend, and to El Paso for a bowling tournament and decided to finish our girls road trip in Marfa to check out the Marfa lights and have a evening of rest, adult beverages and relaxation....and this quaint hotel provided it all....First of all Rick and Tracy are absolutely the nicest and most accomodating people we encountered all of our trip....we sat outside of our rooms and just enjoyed the West Texas laid back evening and enjoyed visiting with Tracy and she gave us some info on the local places to go. the hotel is just what you need when you have had a hard day of driving...large rooms with comfortable beds and fridge, microwave, and clean!!!! I am not sure where other reviewers that claim otherwise came from or what they expect, but this hotel is great and you won't be dissappointed with the rooms or Rick and Tracy...Thanks guys for a fun stay.....maybe us crazy women from South Texas will head out that way again for some R & R!!!!! Lanie and Compadres ;)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tootsiebit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    21
    13
    10
See reviews for
33
25
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We made reservations to stay here two months in advance. We were quoted $65 a nite for a king room. When we arrived at 2:40PM, our room wasn't ready. ( We found this to be very curious as we were one of two cars in the entire parking lot.) Also, we were told, after we arrived, that the rate would be $81 for the night. When we protested, the clerk honored the $65 rate we were quoted and gave us a different room. The room she gave us was big enough, and was a king room. The carpet was worn, but clean. The bathtub did not have a working stopper, so I had to use one of the two washcloths we were given to stop up the drain in the tub. Also, the tub was stained and black in the bottom, and there were long black hairs on my towel. The faucets in the tub were corroded and streaked with calcium deposits. The bed was clean, but the room was musty. The one positive thing I can say about this motel is that the desk clerk was very nice and friendly. Drive a few miles further and stay in Alpine, where we found excellent hotels!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amarillo_TXPjgeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marfa hotels

houston, tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We rented a house that was double booked so our host booked us a room here. I would strongly recommend getting the carpets steam cleaned and some general fix up. Just because you are in West Tx doesn't mean things have to be dirty.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gayledi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

The Riata is a basic, no frills hotel. The rooms are very large, very quiet. The staff is exceptionally friendly.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford,Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2009

I have to say if your a high maintenance person you shouldn't be traveling through west Texas! Reading these reviews, I laughed at the negative ones. We decide to take a quick weekend trip to the Observatory. We came upon the quaint town of Marfa. Sign ahead says "No Service Next 74 Miles" Finding the Riata was a blessing. The owner was very gracious and friendly. The room had everything we needed. A shower, a clean bed and spacious. The sun rise and sun set were majestic. Waking up to hear chickens crowing and a cool breeze...Very nice. The only complaint I have is the town closed up at 9 AM. We were hungry and the pizza place was closed.Thank you for a nice visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el paso
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2009

My best friends family lives in Marfa, so I try and go up as many times as possible. The only place I will stay is at the Riata Inn. The managers Rick and Tracy are something else. They have always been helpfull in every asspect. I have been reading reviews some good and some bad. I just want to say that the bad ones seem like they come from some really stuck up people. Look we are staying at a place that has been around for many years and has lasted. Yes, things are old, but get over it. This is part of the charm. Went up for a BIG wedding in June, made many trips to different hotels, the Riata Inn tops them all. You just have to know how to be prepared for it. The Riata Inn is the only place I will stay in Marfa, due to the fact the Management of Rick and Tracy. They go out of thier way to make sure you are comfortable. The motel is a great place to stay, and most important you know that you and your belongings are safe. Thank you Rick and Tracy, Hope to see you next month, I have missed my trips lately. I hope to see you guys soon. Can't wait to get out on the golf couse again.
Bernadette

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern-bern5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2009

For those of you who don't know, Marfa, TX is a small town with not a whole lot of things going on. With that being said, the Riata Inn was the best value in town with the friendliest of friendly managers. All the other hotels/motels in town were well over $100 per night and didn't provide any better commodities than that of the Riata Inn. The room was nice and big, and WAS provided with a microwave and a mini-fridge. The air-conditioner was easy to use and performed fine with no malfunctions. I would definately recommend the Riata Inn to anyone who is looking for a peaceful, relaxing, and wallet friendly place to stay in Marfa, TX.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingnickname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marfa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riata Inn Marfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riata Inn Marfa

Property: Riata Inn Marfa
Address: 1500 E. Highway 90, Marfa, TX 79843
Location: United States > Texas > Marfa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Riata Inn where we offer the biggest rooms from a hotel in Marfa TX! Being the closest property to the Marfa Lights observation and viewing area, (less than 7 miles away) we are minutes away from much of the fun excitement Marfa Texas has to offer. The hotel is also advantageously located near Marfa's McDonald Observatory, Chinati Foundation, and the Fort Davis State Park. Also, stay with us to enjoy the largest rooms around when you visit Big Bend State Park and Big Bend National Park!. "Great product, Great Price, and a put the Customer first style of service." We are confident that your stay at the Riata Inn Hotel Marfa Texas will be a pleasant one! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riata Inn Marfa Hotel Marfa
Riata Hotel Marfa
Riata Inn Marfa Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing